:: What reccession? Let them eat cake!

February 16, 2009 at 8:16 pm 15 comments

With all the doom and gloom in the media at the moment, what better time to indulge in a little luxury.  After a lovely Valentines Day breakfast on Saturday, Sofie and I headed over to my aunts house to do some baking with my little cousin Maisy. Although cupcakes aren’t exactly what I would class as “Good Mood Food”, they certainly put a smile on the faces of those who got the chance to sample a few- No sample isn’t the word, I think scoff would be far more appropriate!

We made a basic cupcake mix and then a chocolate chip cupcake mix for the yummy oreo style cupcakes. It’s amazing and suprising how theraputic decorating cakes can be, I think I may have found a new hobby.  You don’t really realise how stunning the little cakes look until you see them altogether.  It’s easy to see how they have become so popular in recent years.

If you want to try your hand at some decorating my best advice is to pick up a great assortment of food dyes or gels which can all be bought online.  My aunt picked up some great edible spray food colouring which creates some really cool effects.  We used a butter frosting for the cupcakes, mixed with a few handmade flowers made from ready to roll icing and a sweetened whipped cream for the oreo cupcakes.  Stay tuned recipe coming up in the next post!

Entry filed under: cupcakes.

:: Garlic Mushroom and Goats Cheese Pasta :: Chocolate Chip Oreo Cupcakes!

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robynn's Ravings  |  February 16, 2009 at 9:13 pm

    Hi Donal! Yay! I get to be first. My daughter will faint when she sees your post today. Loves to make the cupcakes she does. However, here’s a question: How do you get around that nasty dye taste? I love the colors and yet don’t want that bitter thing. Do you have a brand you like that doesn’t have this effect?Thanks so much,Robynn Reilly at Robynn’s Ravings

    Reply
  • 2. Kay  |  February 16, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    You really have to be a man to state that cupcakes aren’t ‘good mood food’ ๐Ÿ™‚Love the photos, love your cousin, love the cupcakes.

    Reply
  • 3. Donal  |  February 16, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Hey Robynn!Hehehe they are pretty psychedelic! We used gel food dye and didn’t get any major taste- but to be honest we were probably too distracted! I’ll get a hold of the name of the ones we used.Hey Kay!Were these things have to be stated! To be sure to be sure! Thanks, thanks and thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Daily Spud  |  February 16, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    What a glorious display! Can you send some over? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. Melissa  |  February 16, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    Those look like fun. I think I am going to have to steal your idea and decorate cupcakes with my preschool class. They would love it!

    Reply
  • 6. Peter  |  February 16, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    Hi Donal. That sounds like a really fun afternoon. I’ll do this with my nephews next time I’m minding them.

    Reply
  • 7. Brittany (He Cooks She Cooks)  |  February 16, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    Adorable! And I love the bold colors on the cupcakes.

    Reply
  • 8. Nina Timm  |  February 17, 2009 at 3:30 am

    Any kid should be blessed with an uncle like you!!! Those cupcakes are a treat and the smile on Maisy’s face is worth so much!!

    Reply
  • 9. FAMILY FIRST  |  February 17, 2009 at 4:10 am

    Yeah, love the title of the post! Go to hell recession! Take a break! Enjoy a cupcake!

    Reply
  • 10. Donal  |  February 17, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Hey Daily Spud.Too late they’ve all been eaten!Hey Melissa!Definitely do, the kids have so much fun! Though you will have your hands full dealing with lots of little people with icing bags! ๐Ÿ™‚Hey Peter!Yeah we had lots of fun- will defo be repeating the experience! ๐Ÿ™‚Hey Brittany!Yeah the colours are pretty mind blowing! ๐Ÿ™‚Hey Nina!Yup she had a ball- but she is my cousin not my niece ๐Ÿ™‚Hey Family First!Exactly! ๐Ÿ™‚ hehehe

    Reply
  • 11. jean  |  February 17, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    I can’t get over how beautiful they look…it’s like a little bit of Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory in your kitchen! No wonder your niece looks so excited ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 12. Donal  |  February 17, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    She was pretty excited until her little brother turned up and demanded to eat all her favourite ones! ๐Ÿ™‚ hehehe

    Reply
  • 13. The Food Hunter  |  February 17, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    That little girl and all those cupcakes sure put me in a good mood. Thanks

    Reply
  • 14. Olga  |  February 17, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    omg, precious little girl and adorable cupcakes!!!

    Reply
  • 15. Caroline@Bibliocook  |  February 18, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Those look amazing, Donal – even the cat on my lap wants a look!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos