:: Swedish Cabbage Salad

March 18, 2009 at 2:55 pm 11 comments

I have a huge respect for the way people in Sweden view food. There is a major emphasis on eating well from a young age and also making the time to eat. While I worked as a chef in Gothenberg one of things that I was always impressed with was how, when lunch time rolled around, everything stopped and everybody working, from the kitchen porter to the restaurant manager, sat to eat a meal cooked by the head chef. The meals we ate were not just sloppy seconds, they were well thought out, healthy and delicious.

I’ve seen a similar emphasis on eating well being set in Swedish schools also, with fresh and healthy meals being produced for kids on a daily basis. When I went to school we were constantly served processed food with very few healthy options. I am aware that in Ireland many schemes have been introduced to teach kids about healthy options but it still does not seem to have a deep impact. In a world where we have more knowledge about food and it effects on the body than ever before, from what I can see our younger generations aren’t easily provided with healthy wholesome meals as standard. It can’t be hard to achieve and with with some simple planning this sort of eating can easily become common place. What do you think? How do schools in other countries approach healthy eating?

Swedish Cabbage Salad

In Sweden it is quite common for restaurants to provide diners with a salad buffet table to accompany any main meals ordered. This tangy salad is quite common and is one of my favourite Swedish side dishes.

Makes about 6-8 portions.
500g of Dutch Cabbage (About half a head of cabbage).
100ml of rapeseed oil.
4 tablespoons of malt vinegar.
1 tablespoon of sea salt.
3 tablespoons of ground black pepper.

Prepare the cabbage by slicing into thin pieces and add to a large mixing bowl. Add the rapeseed oil, vinegar, sea salt and ground pepper. Mix the cabbage until all the ingredients are combined. Taste a piece of cabbage, you may want to add another spoonful of vinegar or perhaps a little more black pepper. Cover the bowl and place in the fridge. It’s best to leave the salad for at least an hour or two or even over night. Serve cool as a tasty, healthy side dish.

Entry filed under: cabbage, salad, sidedish.

:: Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Good Mood Food Irish Stew! :: Mediterranean Roast Vegetables with Bulgar Wheat

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Scoodle  |  March 18, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Brilliant – I love this salad. Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  • 2. emma  |  March 18, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!And happy late St. Paddy’s day!

    Reply
  • 3. Emilia  |  March 18, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    This salad is the best! Having lived in Sweden for many years I have to agree that they appreciate home cooking a lot, but they also eat a lot of processed foods. Many of the families I know and knew don’t for example boil their own potatoes, but they eat some weird vacuum packed potatoes.I don’t know about the food in schools, I always opted for the yogurt and granola, which was always an option for those of us who didn’t like school food. I was a very picky eater as a child and I do remember the food being not so good. Then again my dad is a chef and he spoiled us with good food, this is probably why I didn’t want to eat at school πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 4. Donal  |  March 19, 2009 at 12:01 am

    Hey Scoodie!No problem- glad you like it! πŸ™‚Hey Emma!Thanks! Happy St. patricks day to you too!Hey Emilia!Yeah I agree I have come across that too, but only to a certain extent. Great that you had dad who could cook for you! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. English Mum  |  March 19, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Ooh don’t get me started. My son comes home with tales of children in his class bringing chocolate spread sandwiches and a packet of crisps as their lunch. It makes me seethe! Very few Irish schools serve lunches, but when we lived in the UK they had very good, healthy school lunches where schools could opt out of County Council schemes and source their own fresh produce locally. Great recipe. I’m going to give this one a try x

    Reply
  • 6. Kelvin  |  March 20, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.Joannah< HREF="http://myscones.com" REL="nofollow">http://myscones.com/<>

    Reply
  • 7. dick  |  March 22, 2009 at 1:16 am

    This is very like an Amish (Pennsylvania Dutch) cole slaw. One of my favorites. I like to add julienne carrots and sometime julienne green peppers or red peppers to this. I grew up in North Central Ohio which is actually the largest conglomeration of Amish/Mennonite population in the world. This or the same thing with a mayonnaise/vinergar dressing accompanied almost every meal. Wonderful stuff, especially in the summer with fried chicken and sliced tomatoes and basil salad to go along.

    Reply
  • 8. Michelle  |  March 28, 2009 at 8:47 am

    i loved this salad when i was living in sweden. thanks for the recipe and i love yr blog!

    Reply
  • 9. dick  |  June 12, 2009 at 4:40 am

    Just got a copy of an Amish cookbook – recipe for cole slaw which is very like your Swedish cabbage:

    3 cups cabbage, shredded
    variation: Shred 1 small carrot and chop 1/2 green pepper and blend with cabbage.

    Dressing 1:

    1/3 cup sweet or sour cream
    2 Tbsp gran sugar
    2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
    1/2 tsp salt

    Mix together until smooth and fold into cabbage.

    Dressing 2:

    3/4 cup gran sugar
    1/4 cup vinegar
    1/2 tsp salt
    2 Tbsp water

    Mix together until smooth and fold into cabbage.

    With either dressing cool and serve.

    As I mentioned, this is very close to your Swedish cabbage salad. This was served at most meals when I lived in the area where the Amish lived. Love it!

    Reply
  • 10. [eatingclub] vancouver || js  |  June 27, 2009 at 4:43 am

    I'm very intrigued by this cabbage recipe. Bookmarked: thanks!

    Reply
  • 11. Amalia  |  August 10, 2009 at 11:58 am

    This cabbage salad is very common in Romanian restaurants because is very cheap.I love cabbage, so I use to eat this salad :). Greetings, Amalia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Where the river runs through

Pride Rock...

Watch it!

More Photos

