:: Crispy Hasselback Potatoes

November 9, 2009 at 3:46 pm 14 comments

Today is the day I am going to share one of my ultimate favourite recipes from the book! I started writing my first food column in the Irish Independent Weekend magazine last weekend and got the opportunity to share some of my personal favs from the book, including Kerstin’s bursting berries with white chocolate, Chicken Thigh Supper, Lime and Mint Mohito Chicken and Hasselback potatoes. However as I know there are a lot of readers beyond Ireland that might be interested in these recipes I thought it would be worth posting here too!  Let me know if you want any of the other recipes included in the article posted here!

Crispy Hasselback Potatoes

I came across the recipe for Hasselback potatoes when I was younger and they are so visually appealing that I had to make them. The traditional recipe, originally from Stockholm, calls for breadcrumbs and cheese, but I have tried to make it as simple as possible for this recipe. The potatoes go nicely alongside most dishes. If your potato slices don’t separate while cooking, increase your heat and you should get better results.

Serves 4
Approximately 20 baby potatoes
2 tablespoons of melted butter
A generous pinch of sea salt

These potatoes are a little bit daunting at first, but once you get the knack of it you’ll have no trouble! The idea is to cut slices about 3mm in thickness right across the potato, but to keep them attached at the bottom.
If that all sounds a bit too much, there is a quick trick you can use: place the potatoes on a wooden spoon and slice down: the dip in the spoon will prevent you from slicing all the way through.
When you’re finished, place all the potatoes sliced side up in a roasting tray and brush each one with the melted butter and give a good sprinkling of coarse sea salt.
Roast at 200°C/400°F/Gas Mark 6 for approximately 45 minutes or until the slices of the potatoes fan out and turn golden brown.
Serve straightaway and dig in!

Entry filed under: book, potato, potatoes.

:: Everyday Harumi Japanese Cookbook Competition :: Mushroom Hunting Pics!

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Margaret  |  November 9, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    Looks delish, and would def be intereseted in using the cheese – what variety would you recomment?

    Reply
  • 2. Donal  |  November 9, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Hey Margaret,

    I would say if you wanted to keep them crispy a little grated Parmesan. For a more stringy melted cheese on top go with Mozzarella. Any other suggestions out there?

    Reply
  • 3. Miriam  |  November 9, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    I've wanted to make this potato dish for a long time… it looks scrumptious in your photo! Maybe the time has come 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Kristin  |  November 9, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    I'd love to get that chicken thigh supper recipe!

    Reply
  • 5. Amanda  |  November 10, 2009 at 12:51 am

    Looks fabulous. I made potatoes in this fashion once but it's been a while 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. mony  |  November 10, 2009 at 3:13 am

    So simple! I have to try this one, being a potato-holic…

    Reply
  • 7. Nina Timm  |  November 10, 2009 at 3:47 am

    This will definitely become a favorite in this family too!!!

    Reply
  • 8. Trish in Sydney  |  November 10, 2009 at 6:02 am

    Wow, those potatoes look good.. Would loe the chicken thigh supper recipe too please.

    Reply
  • 9. Yael  |  November 10, 2009 at 7:08 am

    OMG! I am a potato person- and this is just the recipe for me. SO elegant looking , but easy to make and I don't even have to guess if it's delicious or not! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 10. laura  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:34 am

    I did these last night and they were wonderful. I put my oven on to gas mark 8, then whenI thought they were halfway through, I turned it up to 9. They were perfect.

    Reply
  • 11. Amie Dianne  |  November 10, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Wow, thank you for your blog. It's fantastic! Beautiful, hearty whole foods, beautiful photos. Are there plans yet for a US release of your book? (If not, I'm ordering through UK amazon immediately!) I made the Hasselback potatoes. So simple & delicious. Best of both worlds–crisp on the outer edge, tender on the inside. I had one with a dollop of goat yogurt for a healthy snack. Next up will be the avocado & bacon sandwiches for sure… YUM. Please do publish the chicken thigh supper recipe! 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. GirlfromtheHills  |  November 10, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Congrats on the Irish Indo column -love your recipes and your blog.

    Reply
  • 13. Morta Di Fame  |  November 10, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    I WANT THIS NOW!

    Reply
  • 14. Donal  |  November 11, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Miriam- Yes the time is here- make it happen 🙂

    Kristin- hope you checked out the blog today- it's up!

    Amanda- defo time to give them ago again!

    Mony- they really are! little effort for a great reaction!

    Nina- I hope so! 🙂

    Trish- It's up on the blog today!

    Yael- No prob hope you try them! 🙂

    Laura- brilliant stuff- glad they worked out for you! 🙂 Always love hearing back!

    Amie- Chicken thighs are up today! Glad you like the pots! You can order the book on amazon US i think otherwise try http://www.mercierpress.ie- let me know how you get on- would be interesting to hear if you receive it!

    Girlfromthehills- Thanks a mill 🙂

    Morta- GO TO YOUR KITCHEN NOW! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


