:: Win a Confit De France tin of Confit Duck!

October 13, 2009 at 9:41 pm 21 comments

If the last recipe had drooling, well then I have a special treat for all you Duck Confit fans!  The lovely Laurent from Confit De France has provided me with a tin of 4 Confit Duck Legs to giveaway here on the blog.

The duck legs come in a tin and are stored in duck fat which is perfect for roasting crispy potatoes!  I decanted all the fat into a big jar which will last me at least 4 roasts!  Brilliant!

The duck itself is so easy to prepare, just stick it on a baking sheet and shove in the oven.  For such a little amount of work in the kitchen the results are absolutely amazing, the duck meat practically falls off the bone and is so delicious!

If you want to get your hands on your very own tin of these gourmet delights all you have to do is leave a comment telling me about your favourite French food!

The competition will close Tuesday 20th of October and is open to residents of Ireland.  A winner will be selected at random from the comments!

Best of luck!

Entry filed under: competition.

:: Duck Confit and A Tasty Bean Stew :: Good Mood Food: THE BIG BOOK LAUNCH!

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel@fairycakeheaven  |  October 13, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    French onion soup, slow cooked sweet sweet onions and thyme!! Perfect winter comfort food!

    Reply
  • 2. eatingoodinthehood@gmail.com  |  October 14, 2009 at 3:29 am

    When I was in France I overdosed on foie gras and country pate with butter that's so much better then what we buy in the grocery stores in the states. But my VERY favorite food? Crepes – savory ones with runny eggs. Yum.

    Reply
  • 3. Julie Davis  |  October 14, 2009 at 7:10 am

    A still-warm pain au chocolat, so flaky fresh from an old town bakery in Carcassonne, savoured with a cappuccino while people-watching at a roadside cafe on the sunniest of sunny June days. Bliss. My morning cereal and milk are looking so uninspiring at the moment. It would almost be worth the Ryanair flight just to savour that delicious croissant again.

    Reply
  • 4. Dec  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Fresh coffee,fresh bread,fresh paté, the simpler the better. And cheese of course. Dec

    Reply
  • 5. Murray  |  October 14, 2009 at 9:25 am

    A crusty bagette, a big lump of roquefort and a spicy red from the Languedoc….after a fine cassoulet, naturally.

    Reply
  • 6. Billy Flynn  |  October 14, 2009 at 9:48 am

    It has to be canard à la rouennaise.

    Not because it is the best way to serve duck IMO but for the pure barbaric yet sophistication of it.

    Had it once in France only but for my 50th I hope to have it again.

    Reply
  • 7. BillG  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Where do I start? The baguettes and croissants for breakfast at our lovely hotel in Tours, so warm and fresh from the bakery. The artichoke and truffle soup with truffle brioche at Guy Savoy in Paris. And the cheese, oh the cheese! My wife wanted to make off with the cheese cart several times.

    Reply
  • 8. RamblingMan  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:47 am

    clafouti !
    custard, cherries and brandy !! Mmm

    Reply
  • 9. Kristin  |  October 14, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Favorite French food is quiche Lorraine. I still remember one my husband and I bought in Paris and then ate overlooking the Seine. I've tried to make it myself a few times but have never come close to that one slice we had.

    Reply
  • 10. Magali  |  October 14, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    I love Ratatoille, but the way I cook it is more towards a Caponata, so I think it doesn't count?
    I just love a freshly baked quiche…A slice of quiche and a salad is a perfect summer dish for me…

    Reply
  • 11. Easy French Food  |  October 14, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    That's too hard! I'll go with Tartiflette, a potato cheese casserole, since that's what I'm making for dinner. It's usually topped with Reblochon cheese, but I will be using a Munster. It is divinely easy and I can't stop eating it.

    Reply
  • 12. Benoit  |  October 14, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Bouillabaisse served with some rouille followed by a mille-feuille. It is heavenly…

    Reply
  • 13. lisadom  |  October 14, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Steak au poivre, Pommes Frites – in a cafe in Chatre. Simple yet perfectly prepared and served with a jug of vin de Table. xx

    Reply
  • 14. George@CulinaryTravels  |  October 14, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    I made duck confit not so long back, it's utterly beautiful.
    http://culinarytravelsofakitchengoddess.wordpress.com/2009/08/24/love-your-planet-go-organic/

    Reply
  • 15. Ronan B  |  October 14, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    French Fries…?

    Reply
  • 16. lily  |  October 14, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Your competition would solve a problem for me! Please see post from last Sunday, http://lilycollison.com/?p=3412 where I was looking for duck confit legs.

    I particularly love the wonderful salads served in a restaurant in Mausanne

    Reply
  • 17. squirrelbread  |  October 14, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    a fresh hunk of baguette, a thin layer of country butter. nothing is finer.

    cheers,

    *heather*

    Reply
  • 18. thebenroberts  |  October 15, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Baguette with a spreading of butter. get some cornichon, salami sausage that has the skin on it (then take it off!) and some camenbert and pile it in to make a brilliant sandwich.

    Reply
  • 19. Gillian P  |  October 16, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    A nice crisp Baguette, it's beautiful no matter what you put on it, Pate, golden butter, salami, brie, a full Irish fry…., more brie…..

    Reply
  • 20. S.  |  October 16, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    I second the foie gras choice. THe ingredient that makes every meal better!

    Reply
  • 21. BB  |  October 23, 2009 at 11:31 am

    I tried these tins when in France and I must say they're fab too, roasted baby potatoes in duck fat….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


