:: Blackberry Vanilla Cupcakes

October 5, 2009 at 8:27 pm 20 comments

Cupcakes cupcakes cupcakes!  They just never fail to impress, no matter how many different types I make.  These blackberry vanilla cupcakes were no different and only lasted a couple of hours in the house.

I had my little cousin Maisy (AKA the cupcake queen!) helping out, she totally enjoyed it and didn’t complain once, despite me dragging her around the cliffs blackberry picking for 3 hours beforehand! I actually made the frosting a little too runny in an attempt to use up the coulis, but I kind of like the dramatic effect it gave the pics.  Yup that was my sad attempt to cover up a mistake!  But you’ll let me away with it right?

Blackberry Vanilla Cupcakes

(Recipe adapted from Coconut & Lime)
This recipe makes delicious, light and moist cupcakes with a fruity taste. 

Makes 12 cupcakes
For the cupcakes:
1 cup flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
6 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup blackberry coulis

For the frosting:
8 oz. cream cheese, at room temperature
3 cups powdered sugar, sifted
2 tablespoons blackberry coulis
Blackberries for decoration

To make the cupcakes, preheat the oven to 180c. Line a cupcake pan with paper liners. In a small mixing bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream together the butter and sugars on medium-high speed until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl between additions.

In another bowl or liquid measuring cup, whisk together the milk and blackberry coulis. Add half of the dry ingredients to the bowl of the mixer and mix on low speed until just combined. Mix in the blackberry coulis/milk mixture. Mix in the remaining dry ingredients on low speed just until incorporated. Do not over-mix.

Divide the batter evenly between the prepared paper liners. Bake 12-15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool in the pan 10-15 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and allow to cool completely.

To make the frosting, combine the cream cheese, powdered sugar and blackberry coulis in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment. Mix on medium speed until smooth and well blended. Frost cooled cupcakes as desired and garnish with fresh blackberries.

Entry filed under: baking, blackberry, cream cheese, cupcakes, flour, frosting, milk, vanilla extract.

:: Blackberry Coulis :: Winner of Lily’s Eco Clean Products!

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bionic Laura  |  October 5, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    I've died and gone to cupcake heaven. These look delicious. I make cupcakes every friday, I think I may be going blackberry picking before then…

    Reply
  • 2. Donal  |  October 5, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Every Friday! Yay so your weekends must be filled with cupcake fun! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Sean  |  October 5, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Great use of that coulis Donal! It's a great way to take advantage of the drying berry season. And surely Tastespotting can't refuse your cousin Maisy 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Giles  |  October 5, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    Donal, I cant believe how good they look. My girlfriend loves making cupcakes and I still have a freezer full of the blackberries I foraged last month and have been trying to find something new to make with them, so we will have to try this out and blog about the results 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Donal  |  October 5, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    Hey Sean!
    absolutely and if they do I'll have to come after them! It'll be cupcakes at dawn!

    Hey Giles!
    Woo defo do- or you could use them in a smoothie! Hmm I must go out and pick some more! Let me know how you get on with the cupcakes!

    Reply
  • 6. Cancemini4  |  October 6, 2009 at 1:22 am

    I love how homestyle these cupcakes look! So friendly and inviting. Thanks also for the coulis recipe, I'm thinking it might be great for a cheesecake!

    Reply
  • 7. Nina Timm  |  October 6, 2009 at 3:30 am

    Just like I expected, these cupcakes look divine!!!!!

    ps. I posted about your blackberry coulis!

    Reply
  • 8. Gala  |  October 6, 2009 at 11:54 am

    So adorable! (the cupcakes and your cousin… 🙂 )

    Reply
  • 9. George@CulinaryTravels  |  October 6, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Absolutely stunning cupcakes and what a sweet assistant you have.

    Reply
  • 10. Amanda  |  October 6, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    What great pictures, looks so fun! They look delish 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. The Sassy Foodie  |  October 6, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Please please let me know what cream cheese you use! I can't seem to find anything else except Philadephia – which tastes too cheesy..
    Thank you!!

    Reply
  • 12. Muneeba  |  October 6, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    My first time on your site, and I'm HOOKED! these cupcakes look awesome … love me some freshly picked blackberries!

    Reply
  • 13. cjjones  |  October 6, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Hi Donal,

    Made these cupcakes this afternoon and they are fabulous! I had picked some blackberries yesterday but didn't have enough for jam so was thrilled when I saw your coulis post. Made the coulis yesterday and did the cupcakes today, they are all gone 🙂

    Love the blog, can't wait for the book, best of luck with it
    cj

    Reply
  • 14. Margie  |  October 7, 2009 at 10:05 am

    Those are just toooo gorgeus! I want to gobble one right away. I think the runny icing makes them look even yummier =)

    Would love to try this recipe at home. But I can hardly find fresh berries here (they're sometimes available, but with a choking price tag). Can I possibly substitute the coulis with jam?

    Margie

    Reply
  • 15. oneordinaryday  |  October 7, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    Passing along some blog love. Stop by my blog to see what I mean.
    ~ Michelle

    Reply
  • 16. Giles  |  October 8, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Hi Donal,

    You use "cups" for measuring your amounts – as we are going to try them at the weekend, can you tell me pls how much a "cup" eqivalent is 🙂 (or better still where I can buy a culinary "cup")

    Cheers,

    Giles.

    Reply
  • 17. Donal  |  October 8, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Hi Giles,

    You can get a cup measurement at most kitchenware shops, or even department stores. If you can't find one, you can convert the measurements using the chart here: http://allrecipes.com/HowTo/Cup-to-Gram-Conversions/Detail.aspx

    Hope that helps!

    Cheers,

    Donal

    Reply
  • 18. Giles  |  October 8, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Thanks Donal ever so much 🙂

    Will let you know how I get on!

    Reply
  • 19. Giles  |  October 12, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Hi Donal,

    Have had a go at making them and have done a write-up @ http://anyoneforseconds.wordpress.com/2009/10/12/blackberry-vanilla-cupcakes/

    Hope you like the results 🙂

    Great recipe!

    Reply
  • 20. Rachel  |  October 21, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Actually, this is an adaptation of my original recipe, not Annie's.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


