:: The Great Big Pie Bake Off: Marshmallow Mermaid Pie

September 29, 2009 at 2:21 pm 21 comments

One of my favourite food related movies has to be “Waitress” it’s full of beautiful imagery and has a cute little story to match! The story is based around Jenna who is a waitress, trapped in an unhappy marriage, her one escape is creating and baking the most amazing, inventive pies you could imagine. If you haven’t seen this great movie make sure to go out and rent it, it’s not deeply intellectual but it’s a warm, clever and cute one which serves a purpose, here’s the trailer:

I was searching on the internet a few weeks ago for some of the fantastic recipes from the movie and it turns out when the movie was first released, promo cards were printed with 5 of the pie recipes! I stuck the link up on my twitter and it got a great reaction with lots of retweets, so much so it inspired a group of us on there to start our very own blog event! So I would like to proudly introduce to the first monthly:

We had originally planned to just bake the pies from the movie, but as time went on we thought it would be great to try and start something that others could join in too. So I hope you enjoy this post, and stick a comment below and let me know if you would be interested in joining us next month for the great big pie bake off!

Check out the other bloggers and their pies from the movie:
Lori: RecipegirlI Can’t Have No Affair Because It’s Wrong & I Don’t Want Earl To Kill Me Pie
Sandie:  Inn Cuisine I Don’t Want Earl’s Baby Pie
Tiffany:  The Nesting Project Falling In Love Pie
Patsy:  Family, Food FriendsBaby Screamin’ Its Head Off In The Middle Of The Night; Ruinin’ My Life Pie

Marshmallow Mermaid Pie

This is definitely a once a year pie, it is most likely one of the most unhealthy desserts I have ever cooked in my life!  Saying all that, it is delicious and extremely therapeautic to make.  This is the orignal recipe but I used digestive biscuits in the place of graham crackers and toasted dessicated coconut on a baking tray in the oven.

Serves 8
9 graham crackers
1/2 Cup sweetened, flaked coconut, toasted
5 tablespoons. butter or margarine, melted
34 marshmallows (8 oz.)
1/2 cup whole milk
1 1/2 cup heavy or whipping cream
1 oz. unsweetened chocolate, grated

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Combine coconut and graham crackers in food processor until coarse crumbs form.
Combine crumbs and butter with fork. Press to bottom and side of 9-inch pie plate. Bake 10 minutes and cool on wire rack.
Heat marshmallows and milk in 3-qt. saucepan over low heat until smooth, stirring constantly. Remove saucepan from heat. Cool completely (30 minutes.)
In large bowl with mixer at medium speed, beat cream until stiff peaks form. Fold marshmallow mixture into whipped cream with grated chocolate. Spoon filling into cooled crust. Refrigerate pie at least 3 hours or overnight.
Top with mini marshmallows, maraschino cherries and rainbow sprinkles.

Entry filed under: biscuit, chocolate, coconut, cream, great big pie bake off, marshmallow, milk, peanut butter, pie.

:: Winner of the Levi Roots Cookbook! :: Lilly’s Eco Clean Competition

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jaime  |  September 29, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    This is great!
    I completely missed the tweet about this. I actually started watching this movie a couple months ago, but I hated Earl so much, I had to turn it off.
    You picked a fantastic pie.

    Reply
  • 2. Rosy  |  September 29, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    This pie look so comforting yet festive with the sprinkles! I can't wait to try it. I love the photo montage of your process.

    Reply
  • 3. Rosy  |  September 29, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    This pie look so comforting yet festive with the sprinkles! I can't wait to try it. I love the photo montage of your process.

    Reply
  • 4. RecipeGirl  |  September 29, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    This definitely looks sweet! It's sure a pretty one though with those colorful little sprinkles. Thanks for designing the graphic- it turned out awesome!

    Reply
  • 5. jodie  |  September 29, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    I LOVED Waitress!! Keri Russell and lots of baking makes a definite winner. Would be absolutely thrilled to bake along with you guys!

    Reply
  • 6. spike.  |  September 29, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    Great movie and great idea for baking. I'd love to join your next round!

    Reply
  • 7. aoife mc  |  September 29, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    *faints instantly at the thought of something so impossibly delicious*

    Reply
  • 8. James  |  September 29, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Keep hearing of the film, haven't got round to it. I know someone that would love this. I'm in!

    Reply
  • 9. Nina Timm  |  September 30, 2009 at 6:03 am

    I know I will love this movie, not to mention the pie!!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Rachel@fairycakeheaven  |  September 30, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    ooo what a good idea, this might inspire me to start blogging again.

    Reply
  • 11. Amy  |  September 30, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    I love this movie too! There is actually a pie-baking group called "You Want Pies With That?" that does this too – its super fun!

    Reply
  • 12. somesaycocoa  |  September 30, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Hey, thanks for the film tip. Last good foodie movie I saw was ratatouille – ha ha what fun.

    That pie looks divine and somehow all those marshmallows remind me of the giant marshmallow man in Ghostbusters.

    Roll on Sat night for movies!

    Reply
  • 13. Katiecakes  |  October 1, 2009 at 6:12 am

    I love pies! I was watching Pushing Daisies and thinking 'I really fancy making a pie'. So yes, I'd love to join in on the fun!!

    Katie xox

    Reply
  • 14. Licia  |  October 1, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Hey Donal!

    Lovely blog ^_^

    You take great pictures which, combined with the delicious recipes, really do put you in a good mood!

    I might have to go watch that movie now…

    Congrats on the book, lookin' good.

    xxx

    Reply
  • 15. Bionic Laura  |  October 4, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    That pie sounds delicious. I must try it out. I'd be happy to get involved in a bit of pie baking.

    Reply
  • 16. Anonymous  |  October 5, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Great, fun idea! Just looking at the recipe and wondering where you source graham crackers….I'm from the US and haven't been able to find them here yet!
    P.S. – love your site, and your recipes!

    Reply
  • 17. Donal  |  October 5, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    hey I substituted them with digestive biscuits- which did the trick nicely!

    Reply
  • 18. www.DE HARINA Y DE MAIZ.com  |  October 6, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    congrats, i love graham crackers crust! looks delicious!!
    http://www.deharinaydemaiz.com

    Reply
  • 19. www.DE HARINA Y DE MAIZ.com  |  October 6, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    i'll definietely be making this one!!!

    http://www.deharinaydemaiz.com

    Reply
  • 20. Nathalie  |  October 21, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    Yum!

    Waitress was brilliant, such a cute flick. Loved the little pie-themed lullaby in it. The Pie-Off sounds fab, I'd love to take part, but have never baked anything other than plain ol' apple so maybe I'll experiment with a few things first then give it a go 🙂

    Reply
  • 21. 2nd girl  |  November 11, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Completely by accident I watched this film last night and only realised what it was when she made the Marshmallow pie and recognised it from here. I am definitely going to make some of the pies..once I learn how to bake. I loved the movie..loved the letters to her baby..

    Love your blog too…thanks for sharing all the recipes..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


