:: Cherry Clafoutis

June 18, 2009 at 6:04 am 11 comments

I made this delicious pancake based dessert for a BBQ and it was really tasty. I bought a huge amount of cherries at the farmers market in howth recently, so the lucky few which didn’t get eaten on the way home, saw a much more elaborate end in this lovely dish!

Cherry Clafoutis

To be honest, even though I served this on a hot day, I think this dish would work better on colder one, as I find it’s a little bit too heavy for the summer sunshine.

Serves 4-5 people.
50g of flour.
3 eggs.
100g of sugar.
1 tablespoon of vanilla extract.
1/4 teaspoon of salt.
250ml of milk.
450g of stoned sweet cherries.
Icing sugar for decoration.

Preheat the oven 190oC/Gas Mark 5.
Whisk the eggs with the sugar, vanilla extract and salt. When they are combined sift in the flour and whisk to combine. When the mix is smooth, add the milk and whisk through to form a light batter.
Add half the batter to a floured and buttered dish then add the cherries, arranging them nicely in the dish. Cover the cherries with the rest of the batter and place in the oven to bake for approximately 40 minutes or until the batter fluffs up and goes a nice light golden brown.  Sift a little icing sugar over the top and serve warm with some vanilla cream.

Entry filed under: baking, cherries, dessert.

:: Good Mood Food in Irish Tatler! :: Shameless Plug: Please Buy Industry’s Debut Single "My Baby’s Waiting"!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nick  |  June 18, 2009 at 8:40 am

    Cherries aren't in season here, so I'm going to try this with some plums I have at home – stay tuned! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Lana  |  June 18, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    Looks wonderful and is particularly timely as I have a load of fresh cherries that I had left over from a bunco party this week! Will give this one a try this weekend if I figure out the metric conversion 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. CarolAnn  |  June 18, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    As much as I love clafoutis, here in Texas it's currently around 100 degrees F and you are right – it's much too much right now. In October – absolutely!

    It looks lovely, Donal. Hope you all enjoyed it!

    Reply
  • 4. lorraine@italianfoodies  |  June 18, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Looks fab, I love cherries! The supermarket kind are always from the US though, where are these from do you know?

    Reply
  • 5. Anonymous  |  June 19, 2009 at 9:44 am

    i recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.The post from wholesale watches Company.

    Reply
  • 6. Nanazolie  |  June 19, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Clafoutis are best served at room temperature. You'll find it lighter that way. It's a summer dish, which works best with seasonal fruits. Try it again in the autumn with plums

    Reply
  • 7. Amanda  |  June 19, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    This is gorgeous! I LOVE cherries and am bookmarking this for later 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Treehouse Chef  |  June 19, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    That is very unique. Great idea!!

    Reply
  • 9. The Food Hunter  |  June 19, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    This looks great.

    Reply
  • 10. Elga  |  June 21, 2009 at 9:44 am

    I love it! Clafoutis will be made with a lot of fruits…white peaches, strawberries, banana..
    Beautiful shots and lovely pans!

    Reply
  • 11. Will  |  June 22, 2009 at 11:11 am

    "What A Good Food Blog" –
    Great stuff Donal & good luck with the book in October.

    I'll be looking out for it – and am sure it'll be a big success.

    Best wishes

    Will
    http://whatawebsite.org/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


