:: Caramel Apple Sauce

February 24, 2009 at 7:28 am 18 comments

Happy Pancake Tuesday!  I hope you have your batter ready!  If not find the recipe in the post below.  This caramel apple sauce is perfect for pancakes and ideal to jazz up pancake Tuesday.  I’m in Stockholm and away from the kitchen this week so have a few pancakes on me.

Caramel Apple Sauce

I originally made this to go with pancakes but it works so well as part of other desserts like waffles, ice cream, and even my American style oaty pancakes!

75g of butter.
5 tablespoons of golden syrup.
3 golden delicious apples, peeled and cored.
1 tablespoon of caster sugar.
1 teaspoon of cinnamon powder.

In a small sauce pan bring the butter and golden syrup to the boil.  Allow to simmer and bubble for approximately 4-5 minutes or until the sauce thickens.  Set aside.
Chop the apples into chunky slices.  Melt a knob of butter in a large frying pan over a medium heat and add the apples slices.  Sprinkle over the cinnamon and caster sugar, toss to combine.  Fry the apples, tossing every now and then until you get a nice golden colour on all sides and they have become soft (About 3-4 minutes either side).  When the apples are ready, add them to the butter and golden syrup sauce and stir gently to combine.
Serve the sauce with homemade pancakes and some sneaky vanilla ice cream!

Entry filed under: apple, caramel, dessert, golden syrup, pancakes.

:: Basic Pancake Recipe :: Bacon Avocado and Sundried Tomato Sandwich

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Treehouse Chef  |  February 24, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    I like your recipes because the servings are not oversized!

    Reply
  • 2. finsmom  |  February 24, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Wait while I wipe the drool off the screen… this sounds heavenly! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 3. Anonymous  |  February 24, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    I really enjoy your blog. I have two questions about this sauce, what is “golden syrup” and what is “caster sugar”? Please help the American.Thanks

    Reply
  • 4. pigpigscorner  |  February 24, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Oh my, that looks gorgeous!

    Reply
  • 5. twospoons  |  February 24, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    woohoo! guess who got an exceptionally generous sized bag of apples she now knows what to do with?! Thanks for the post! I’ll linkies to you if I get around to blogging about this myself. Great way to use up spare apples.

    Reply
  • 6. Hungry Gal  |  February 25, 2009 at 12:58 am

    this looks delicious. caramel + apples = yum

    Reply
  • 7. Rich  |  February 25, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Great pictures accompanying this recipe. And it sounds yummy… thanks!

    Reply
  • 8. RecipeGirl  |  February 25, 2009 at 6:41 am

    I am loving your blog! And this caramel sauce looks absolutely amazing.

    Reply
  • 9. Clarisse-15ans  |  February 25, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    This sauce is very attractive. And with pancakes .. Delicious! I want = D Ps: donalskehan@hotmail.comIs it your e-mail adress ? Because I sent an e-mail to you with questions .. but, I do not know if it’s just ? (And I’m not gifted xxD )goodbye!Clarisse

    Reply
  • 10. Donal  |  February 25, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Hey Treehouse Chef!Thanks- it wasn’t a concious decision!Hey Finsmom!I hope you’ve cleaned up over there! πŸ™‚Hey Anon!Caster sugar is like finer sugar and I guess you could substitute maple syrup for golden syrup. Hope that helps!Hey pigscorner!Why thank you! πŸ™‚Hey twospoons!Oh definitely do- I’d love to see how you get on!Hey hungry gal!I love the foodie equation you got going on there! πŸ™‚Hey Rich!Thanks glad you like them!Hey RecipeGirl!Its so tasty let me know if you try them! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 11. Melissa  |  February 26, 2009 at 4:19 am

    Mmmm…your sauce looks great! I bet it would be yummy on some vanilla ice cream too!

    Reply
  • 12. Michelle  |  February 26, 2009 at 4:55 am

    Looks absolutely delicious!

    Reply
  • 13. Shannon  |  February 26, 2009 at 4:55 am

    I absolutely love your blog.It’s nearly midnight here in Michigan and yet I’m about to make some pancakes, thanks to this post!

    Reply
  • 14. Culinary Cory  |  February 26, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Wow! Even your boiling pot of butter looks good.

    Reply
  • 15. lisa (dandysugar)  |  March 3, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Great way to use apples! Looks delicious. Maybe a dollop on some oatmeal might be good too…

    Reply
  • 16. Kevin  |  March 4, 2009 at 1:47 am

    That looks nice an gooey and good!

    Reply
  • 17. Holler  |  March 4, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    I think I am in love (with the recipe of course) πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 18. Donal  |  March 11, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Hey Melissa!Your dead right it would be totally delicious!Hey Michelle!Thanks! πŸ™‚Hey Shannon!All the way from Michigan! Hope you enjoyed your pancakes!Hey Cory!Thanks!Hey Lisa!That would really tasty!Hey Kevin!It sure is! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚Hey Holler!hehehehe oh RIGHT! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


