:: Yummy Wholewheat Peanut Butter Cookies!

January 20, 2009 at 12:22 pm 20 comments

There has been a few new Irish food blogs but check out the latest blog I came across CheapEats.ie which is great for spotting shopping bargains on offer across the country! Another cool one particularly for its travel pics is thefood.ie warblings check them out, it’s always great to see new blogs!
This recipe is actually one I wrote for the book. I had toyed with whether or not to include a Sweets chapter, and in the end decided I couldn’t do without. The cookies took a few tries to get the mix right especially using whole wheat flour, but the end result is a chewy sweet cookie which is really tasty. They literally take minutes to make and have quickly become my solution to the TV watching munchies!


Peanut Butter Cookies
These are incredibly tasty little cookies which are so easy to make. Perfect for cooking with kids!

Makes approximately 9 cookies.

4 rounded tablespoons of crunchy peanut butter.
1 large egg.
2/3 cup of dark brown sugar.
1/3 cup of whole wheat flour.
Place the sugar, and flour in a large mixing bowl and combine. With a wooden spoon create a well in the center of the bowl and add the egg and peanut butter. Beat the egg and peanut butter with the flour and sugar until a thick dough forms. If the dough is too moist simply add a little extra flour.  Allow the dough to sit in the fridge for about 15 minutes.
Remove from the fridge and place rounded tablespoons of the dough onto a greased baking sheet.
Bake in the oven at 180oC/ for approximately 15 minutes or until the cookies brown slightly.
Remove from the baking sheet and allow to cool.

Entry filed under: peanut butter, snack, wholewheat.

:: A Few Pics From Peter Pan! :: Fork Crushed Herb and Roast Garlic Potatoes

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kay  |  January 20, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Looks so tasty. You beat me to it! Been meaning to do a peanut cookie posting. Lucky for me, my recipe is completely different from yours!Did someone say tights?:)

    Reply
  • 2. Donal  |  January 20, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Yeah they’re perfectly chewy! Ah I hate when that happens post it anyway!I did say tights! AND I DON’T CARE! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 3. Daily Spud  |  January 20, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Could they <>be<> any easier? Love that!

    Reply
  • 4. Melissa  |  January 20, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Ummm…these look scrumptiously delish and so easy.

    Reply
  • 5. Donal  |  January 20, 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Hey Daily Spud!I know has the be the easiest cookie recipe ever!Hey Melissa!They really are if you try them let me know! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. The Peanut Butter Boy  |  January 21, 2009 at 4:35 am

    I’ve been making the 3 ingredient peanut butter cookies for a while and wondering how to simply incorporate some WW flour into them. I use 1 cup pb, 2/3 cup sugar and 1 egg, I would have thought you’d need more peanut butter in these. Look fantastic though and the pictures are excellent. I’ll try these out next time.

    Reply
  • 7. lisa (dandysugar)  |  January 21, 2009 at 5:49 am

    These little cookies look great. And not too much sugar, either! Super easy.

    Reply
  • 8. Deirdre  |  January 21, 2009 at 10:13 am

    thanks for the name check! oh and congrats on the awards nomination – been reading you for ages so delighted to see you nominated.

    Reply
  • 9. Donal  |  January 21, 2009 at 10:14 am

    Hey Peanut Butter Boy!Yeah its the perfect recipe to add it too. I don’t you would taste the difference.Hey Lisa!Yup as cookies go I would say they’re pretty healthy!

    Reply
  • 10. Donal  |  January 21, 2009 at 10:20 am

    Hey Deirdre!No Prob the blog looks great! Thanks a mill! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 11. The Sexy Pedestrian  |  January 21, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    God, I’ve just discovered your blog and I’ve already spotted at least four things I NEED to make THIS week.Item No. 1- Peanut butter cookies. Is there a more perfect combination?

    Reply
  • 12. Treehouse Chef  |  January 21, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    These cookies look great! My husband loves peanut butter….can’t wait to make them.

    Reply
  • 13. Donal  |  January 22, 2009 at 1:25 am

    Hey Sexy Pedestrian!Excellent right? Let me know how you get on!Hey Treehouse Chef!Ah then he will definitely love these! So tasty! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 14. Deirdre  |  January 30, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    nom, just made these and threw in some dark choc chips – oh so good.

    Reply
  • 15. Ana Nelson  |  February 7, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    I have made this twice now. Added 2 round teaspoons of cocoa powder the 2nd time to good effect.

    Reply
  • 16. pigpigscorner  |  February 17, 2009 at 6:22 pm

    These cookies sound relatively healthy with whole wheat flour =) I’m bookmarking this! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 17. Martie Dawn  |  May 26, 2009 at 4:09 am

    I made these today for a memorial day bbq and they were a big hit. They all disappeared very quickly. I only had light brown sugar and they were still great! Thanks so much for the recipe. Easiest cookies ever.

    Reply
  • 18. Gina  |  June 22, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    LOVE these– so easy and delicious. I only had organic unsalted smooth peanut butter, so I added a bit of salt. I would probably slightly reduce the amount of sugar next time– I packed it while measuring and probably didn't need to.

    Reply
  • 19. Anonymous  |  November 13, 2009 at 7:17 am

    I found this site using [url=http://google.com]google.com[/url] And i want to thank you for your work. You have done really very good site. Great work, great site! Thank you!

    Sorry for offtopic

    Reply
  • 20. Anonymous  |  November 14, 2009 at 3:34 am

    Are peanuts added to this recipe? If so, how much? Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


