:: CHUNKY GARLIC BREAD

November 28, 2008 at 8:29 am 19 comments

Rehearsals for the panto are in full swing at the moment so I have been doing a spot of batch cooking to keep up with posts on the blog.  If your hoping to come along to the show, it starts on December 11th and runs right through to the end of January.  But according to inside sources the tickets are going pretty quick, so make sure to get your tickets early!

I have a serious weakness for garlic, and even more severe weakness for this garlic bread!  It’s great to plonk on the table when you have friends over or even as a simple snack.  This recipe can easily be made ahead of time, wrap it up in tin foil and pop it in the freezer until you need it.  It should last for at least a month.

Chunky Garlic Bread
You can use any bread for this really, but try and pick a loaf with a chunky crust.  The bread on the inside will stay nice and soft and you will be left with a crunchy crust.  I love garlic and have used four cloves here, but reduce the amount if don’t want to be warding off vampires for the next week!

1 loaf of wholemeal bread.
5 tablespoons of butter at room temperature. 
4 cloves of garlic, finely chopped.
A large handful of freshly chopped parsley.
A pinch of sea salt.

Preheat the oven to 200oC/390oF/Gas 6.
Slice the bread into slices being careful not to cut the whole way through and set aside.  The slices should all still be joined at the bottom.  Mash the butter, salt, garlic and parsley together on a chopping board with the back of a fork.  When the ingredients are combined scoop up the garlic butter and slather the slices on the inside.  Don’t be afraid to get messy here, if there’s butter on the crust all the better!  Wrap the loaf in tinfoil leaving the tops of the slices exposed.  You can also sprinkle the tops of the slices with a little grated Parmesan cheese at this point.  Place the wrapped loaf in the oven and bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden and crisp on top.
Serve piping hot!  If you can’t get through a whole loaf in one go, freeze the slices individually and pop them in the toaster when you want to reheat them!

Entry filed under: bread, garlic, parmesan, parsley, wholemeal.

:: PERFECT PARSNIPS! :: SIMPLE ANTIPASTO SALAD

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kay  |  November 28, 2008 at 9:18 am

    That there is bound to be heaven on a plate.

    Reply
  • 2. Donal  |  November 28, 2008 at 9:21 am

    Hey Kay!I have to confess- I may have eaten the majority of that loaf…

    Reply
  • 3. eatersregret  |  November 28, 2008 at 9:24 am

    Wow that looks tasty โ€“ garlic bread, my own personal kryptonite!

    Reply
  • 4. Kay  |  November 28, 2008 at 9:25 am

    You’re just as bad as I am ๐Ÿ™‚I’m gonna challenge you … next time try to make your own butter (http://www.kayotic.nl/blog/?p=1070) and add fresh sage in stead! See what happens then ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. Donal  |  November 28, 2008 at 9:37 am

    Hey Eatersregret!hehehe! I know- it seems to be a lot of people downfall! ๐Ÿ™‚Kay- OOOOH Ok now I’m impressed! I’m definitely gonna try that- is there a major difference in taste?

    Reply
  • 6. Kay  |  November 28, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Lemme put it this way; you’ll never go back. There is a huge difference. This butter tastes fresh and light. It’s very unlike any store bought butter.

    Reply
  • 7. Donal eile  |  November 28, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Great tip to freeze individually, ready-made garlic bread in 2 mins then!

    Reply
  • 8. CK  |  November 28, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    Hey Donal, just dicovered your blog. Its a lovely looking site, excellent shots of your food. I was in Cuba this summer so I’m intrigued to try the chicken with rum and mint. Its on the menu for the weekend. Food gets the odd look in over at my blog http://www.thedossingtimes.com – equally you’ll find a random mix of topics covered

    Reply
  • 9. culinarycory.com  |  November 28, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Garlic bread is so easy to make and so wonderful to eat. I have a weakness for garlic. It seems like I put garlic in everything.

    Reply
  • 10. Donal  |  November 28, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Kay- Ok you have me convinced- I accept the challenge! ๐Ÿ™‚Hey Donal!I tell ya- up there for thinking! Hey CK!Thanks a mill- brilliant I hope you like it- if you get a chance marinade the breasts for as long as possible! Let me know how you get on!Hey Cory!I know I’m the same- I go through at least one bulb a week!

    Reply
  • 11. Elizabeth  |  November 29, 2008 at 12:11 am

    That looks absolutely wonderful. I love garlic bread.

    Reply
  • 12. Andrea  |  December 8, 2008 at 5:45 am

    Is that a piece of paper stuck to the end of that bread? Just curious. I’ve never seen anything like that on bread here in US

    Reply
  • 13. [eatingclub] vancouver || js  |  December 11, 2008 at 4:13 am

    That looks so phenomenal it makes me want to weep for joy.

    Reply
  • 14. Melissa  |  December 16, 2008 at 3:37 am

    Wow! That looks awesome! I have never made garlic bread, but I think I will have to now.

    Reply
  • 15. ale balanzario  |  January 26, 2009 at 3:15 am

    i just discover your blog also, this garlic bread looks so tasty, I will make it soon.

    Reply
  • 16. Sophie  |  March 1, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Your version of garlic bread looks stunning!!!

    Reply
  • 17. Carrie  |  March 30, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    I just found your blog, and all of your food looks great! This garlic bread looks so good!

    Reply
  • 18. Lou  |  July 4, 2009 at 11:26 am

    That looks like well filled garlic bread, I never understand why people buy garlic bread from a supermarket, they hardly have any garlic butter in!

    Reply
  • 19. Amalia  |  August 10, 2009 at 11:59 am

    I love garilic and I will try this recipe!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


