:: Fortune Cookies!

November 12, 2008 at 8:35 pm 25 comments

I’ve always been a bit of an arts and crafts fan, especially when I was growing up. I guess that’s why making these fortune cookies appealed to me in the first place! Fortune cookies are really fun to make and customise. They add a cool little touch to home cooked Asian dishes.
The origin of the fortune cookie seems to be highly disputed, and in their current form appear to be more of an American take on an early Japanese idea. The cookies served at many restaurants are supposedly filled with a Chinese proverb but many cynics have pointed out that people are actually hired to write these! Either way I think the idea is quite nice!

I have made these years ago from a recipe in an Asian cookery book, but I couldn’t manage to find it when I went routing the other day. Instead I have used this recipe which seems to be fairly similar, but only makes 10. I have doubled the recipe here, but be warned making this many is quite time consuming, as you can only make a few at a time.

Fortune Cookies

The trick to making the cookies is timing, so prepare everything you need before you stick them in the oven. You have to mould the hot little discs as soon as they come out of the oven, so I would suggest you use a pair of gloves or some kitchen paper. I don’t have asbestos hands so when I first made these I was hopping around the place from the heat of moulding them with my bare hands. NOT FUN! The technique of moulding is fairly simple, you fold the disc in half, and then fold it in half again over the rim of a glass. Sound easy? It is!

4 large egg whites.
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract.
6 tablespoons of sunflower oil.
175g of all purpose white flour.
375g of granulated sugar.
1 ½ teaspoon of cornflour
½ teaspoon of salt.
6 teaspoons of water.

Preheat the oven to 150˚C/Gas 2/300˚F and grease a wide baking sheet.
Write and cut out your own customised fortunes on little strips of paper about 10cm by 1cm and set aside.
Using a whisk, beat the egg whites in a large bowl with the oil, and vanilla extract. Beat them until they become thick, but not stiff. Sieve in the flour and cornflour. Add the sugar, salt and water and mix through the egg whites. Combine thoroughly until you have no lumps and bumps!

Place 4 level tablespoon of the mix evenly spaced on the baking sheet. I find working with four discs at a time to be the easiest. Distribute the mix evenly by tilting the tray until you get a nice wide disc around 10cm in diameter.
Bake in the oven for 10-15 minutes, or until the cookies go a light golden brown colour around the edges. Working quickly- remove one disc from the baking sheet, place the fortune in the center and gently fold in half. Bend the two ends of the disc over the rim of a glass and hold in position for 20 seconds until it cools.
Repeat the process until you get through all the cookie mix.

Entry filed under: dessert, flour, fortune cookies, vanilla extract.

:: Mushy Roast Garlic and Cherry Tomato Pasta :: Chilli Jam

25 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chocolate Shavings  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Those look great!

    Reply
  • 2. jfolkmann  |  November 12, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Such a great idea. I’ll have to try this. Great idea for a dinner party…or get a the waiter to switch them out for your table at a Chinese restaurant and include really personal fortunes.

    Reply
  • 3. nyc  |  November 13, 2008 at 12:37 am

    OH! I made these in college, super easy and cute 🙂 so fun to see some new postings!

    Reply
  • 4. Caviar and Codfish  |  November 13, 2008 at 1:01 am

    So, did you make any personalized fortunes for friends and family? I’d have fun with that. 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. WickedCookie  |  November 13, 2008 at 2:56 am

    Those look gorgeous! I am tempted to make them for the family for the holidays, but that may be too big of an undertaking. Maybe I’ll reserve it for gifts in smaller batches. Lovely photos.

    Reply
  • 6. Jaime  |  November 13, 2008 at 5:27 am

    Those look so beautiful. I remember trying to make pink one for Valentine’s Day when I was twelve, or something like that. Yours obviously turned out better than mine. I never thought of bending them over a glass. Very clever.

    Reply
  • 7. raj  |  November 13, 2008 at 6:08 am

    this is so strange! i’ve been looking for a good fortune cookie recipe this past week and you post one!!! 🙂rajhttp://cooking-my-way.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  • 8. Mallory Elise  |  November 13, 2008 at 6:34 am

    holy crap those are so cute! they’re perfect! your writing’s pretty entertaining, but hey what did you write on the fortunes?

    Reply
  • 9. Kay  |  November 13, 2008 at 7:30 am

    These looks like fun to make. Love the photos.

    Reply
  • 10. Donal  |  November 13, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Chocolate Shavings- Thanks!Jfolkmann- I know- I’ve even heard of people proposing via fortune cookies! Great idea, just make sure they get the right one!Nyc- Fun right?! I know it’s good to be back in the swing of things, have some great new posts to stick up- so stay tuned!Caviar and Codfish- Yeah I did some personal ones, if your stuck for inspiration, type “Fortune cookie proverbs” into google.Wickedcookie- They can be quite time consuming- I did it on a free afternoon while I was watching a movie, but you do have to keep popping up and down!Jaime- Ah thats a pity they didn’t turn out- you have to try again- it’s great when they do work! Well it was the rim of a glass or a burnt finger! 😉Raj- If you do try them let me know how you get on- They can be a little bit tricky.Mallory Elise- hehehe thanks! My favourite one that I wrote was “A cynic is just a frustrated optimist”!Kay- Hey! they are! Thanks again!

    Reply
  • 11. pixen  |  November 13, 2008 at 11:38 am

    lovely photos and technique… the base/basic mix reminded me of a chinese cookie we made during Chinese New Year… 🙂 also reminded me of langue de chat. The bending technic I’d seen before using back of knife or spatula/pastry scraper but yours is safe and easy to make too. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. Jo.  |  November 13, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Seriously, I have never thought one can make a fortune cookies at home. Woooow. I’m more than impressed!!!!! Your cookies looks so cool.

    Reply
  • 13. Yasmin (Almond & The Hazelnut)  |  November 13, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Donal, I just came across your site through Foodgawker and felt I must tell you what a captivating site it is – excellent photography and great styling. I will be keeping my eye on it and my stomach awaiting! From a fellow jack of all trades…

    Reply
  • 14. Donal  |  November 13, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Pixen- hey! thanks yes they are very similar to make, these are slightly less as sweet, I would imagine. Hmmm I’ll have to try the back of the knife the next time to see if it makes a difference! 🙂Jo- hey there, thanks a million! You have to try them now that you’ve been impressed! 🙂Yasmin- HI! Thanks! your comment made me laugh! We jacks of all trades have to stick together you know!

    Reply
  • 15. Cakebrain  |  November 13, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Good-looking fortune cookies!

    Reply
  • 16. Donal  |  November 13, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Hey Cakebrain! thanks!

    Reply
  • 17. Anonymous  |  November 14, 2008 at 10:33 am

    WOW ! My mouth has filled with water.

    Reply
  • 18. Donal  |  November 14, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    hahaha- I hope your ok!

    Reply
  • 19. Kieran  |  November 17, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Very cool, Donal. Another use for those left-over egg whites when making ice cream!

    Reply
  • 20. Donal  |  November 17, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    hey Kieran- thanks! Definitely! Or alternatively we could just swap, fortune cookies for ice cream? Sounds like a deal to me!

    Reply
  • 21. culinarycory.com  |  November 18, 2008 at 3:58 am

    Wow, I’ve never thought about making fortune cookies from scratch. My wheels are turning on the kinds of fortunes I could include in the cookies.

    Reply
  • 22. gaga  |  November 20, 2008 at 6:17 am

    Wow, that’s impressive and looks great!

    Reply
  • 23. Sara  |  November 21, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Yours are so much more beautiful than the time I made them http://ibbyskibby.wordpress.com/2008/02/20/unfortunate-cookies/But the best part was writing the fortunes. I’m enjoying your blog, as recommended by Kay today!Sara in Salt Lake City (IbbySkibby.com)

    Reply
  • 24. Trish  |  December 9, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    if i dont have sunflower oil, what can i substitute this with? olive oil, vegetable oil? i wanna try to make this for christmas! please & thank you!

    Reply
  • 25. ice  |  July 8, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Those look wonderful!

    Unfortunately for me, though, I tried them out and it was a disaster! The batter was kind of runny so they were extremely difficult to remove from the sheet and impossible to shape! Oh no!

    And is there really more sugar than flour? That was quite a lot of sugar.

    But anyway, thank you for sharing, I intend to try making another batch soon after recovering from this afternoon's mess, haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Apollo Bay Sunset

Peony Duo

Sonnenuntergang / Sunset

More Photos

