:: First Day Photoshoot!

September 15, 2008 at 7:27 pm 12 comments

I have just got home from one of the most fascinating days of my life!  There was so much to take in, all the tricks of the trade- like did you know that dead looking mint, can be revived in a bowl of soapy water?  Not that it was used to today, but were you aware that the steam coming from so many mouth watering food pictures is actually the result of a water laden tampon, heated in the microwave!  I’m not sure about the last one, I think they may have been joking, but you never know!

We worked on a lot of the breakfast items and soups today, tomorrow we’ll be moving onto salads and main meals, it’s all very exciting!  It’s really great to be able to see the finished product so quickly, and after months of having them down on paper, the recipe’s to finally come alive.

I’ll keep you posted on how tomorrow goes, until then… Goodnight!

Entry filed under: book, food styling, photography.

:: TURKEY TRAVEL LOG: Orhaniye- Dirsek- Monastery of Panormitis, Symi :: Turkish Pizza Recipe!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kay  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    It’s so fun to see this all.I have to confess that I get a real kick out of actually shooting my step by step recipes ‘real’ rather than using these techniques, but it’s fun to see it all through your bloig.

    Reply
  • 2. Ferg  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Just stumbled across this blog.I’d have to agree with kay.I don’t really see the appeal of building an image of food. It almost always looks better when “real”.Varnishing chicken? Mashed potato instead of ice cream? No thanks, why not learn to cook and take a picture of that : )

    Reply
  • 3. Ferg  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Just stumbled across this blog.I’d have to agree with kay.I don’t really see the appeal of building an image of food. It almost always looks better when “real”.Varnishing chicken? Mashed potato instead of ice cream? No thanks, why not learn to cook and take a picture of that : )

    Reply
  • 4. Kay  |  September 15, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    p.s they weren’t kidding about the tampons, I’m afraid.

    Reply
  • 5. Esi  |  September 15, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    It’s interesting to see the process, but I am sure the finished product will be worth it. Congrats!

    Reply
  • 6. Donal  |  September 16, 2008 at 5:21 am

    Kay- Hey there, yeah I totally get what you are saying, the book will have a good mix of pictures, set up and more live action. Personally I like the mix. Hehehe yes I did see a glint in the eye when the tampons were mentioned! Ferg- I think you may be looking at food styling in the extreme. All the food we have made today has been completely edible, full of flavour and delicious! I do agree that some of the older techniques can look quite dated, but the stuff I saw, was all about plating the dish in its most natural state and just picking the best bits, which is what I would do naturally when photographing food.Esi- I’m dying to just post all the pictures, but I have to hold back! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 7. Zita  |  September 16, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    I just found your blog too, ha… reminds me of my old days..half cook food for better colours, etc-etc…:) when they know this “tricks” they say what??? why?but when they see pictures without knowing they say… WOW!!

    Reply
  • 8. Darius T. Williams  |  September 17, 2008 at 11:47 am

    I assume you’re working on a book? I bet those pics will come out great. And you know…who’s the person/people that come up with the tricks of the trade? I’ve never known…

    Reply
  • 9. Nate-n-Annie  |  September 17, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    After reading “Food Styling for Photographers” I was really turned off to how food was made inedible to make it look good on paper.They should make a “behind the scenes” book on how the photography was done for a cookbook. Kinda like behind the scenes vignettes on movie DVDs.Or are you going to blog this process?

    Reply
  • 10. eatersregret  |  September 18, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Your images are usually great Donal, but for a book I guess they go with the whole pro-styling thing. Must have been so cool though, good luck with the book

    Reply
  • 11. Donal  |  September 18, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Zita- Hey there! Yeah I know what you mean the pics so far seem to have gotten a great reaction!Darius- Yup these shots will be used in the book. I think they just come up with them over time!Nate-n-Annie- I have actually read that book and some of the stuff sounds really awful- but I think a lot of the modern food styling is more about keeping the food in its natural state. I’ll be taking quite a few of the pictures myself so I’ll be sticking in bits here and there!Eatersregret- Thanks a mill! Like I said I will be doing a lot of the photos myself also, so there should be a good mix. Really was interesting stuff and thanks again!

    Reply
  • 12. kittie  |  September 19, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Sounds like an exciting day! I’m off to try the tampon trick for my next shot 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


