:: MOHITO LIME AND MINT CHICKEN!

July 31, 2008 at 6:43 am 21 comments

Unfortunately thanks to my hangover a few weeks ago, after one or two many Mohito’s, it was not a pleasant experience pouring the rum into this recipe at 8am yesterday.  Why was I pouring rum, bleary eyed, into a zip lock bag in the early hours of the morning?  Well I came up with an ingenious idea to marinade the chicken in the mix for this recipe, while I was at work, so the flavors would permeate through the breasts.

I’m glad I did, because this dish was packed with really tasty flavors.  I served the breasts with couscous, but it would also go really nicely with a crisp green salad.  Sofie told me the chicken was like heaven in her mouth, and if that doesn’t sell it to you I don’t know what will!

Lime and Mint Mohito Chicken

  1. 4 Free-range Chicken Breasts.
  2. A small handful of Fresh Mint.
  3. 2 Limes Quartered.
  4. Juice of 2 Limes.
  5. A glug of Rum (About 1/4 of a cup).
  6. 1 Tbsp of Olive Oil.
  7. 1 Clove of Garlic.
  8. A generous pinch of Sea Salt and Freshly Ground Pepper.

Chop the mint and garlic finely and place in a large zip lock bag.  Add to the bag, the rum and lime juice.  I butterfly the chicken breasts so they cook quicker and the garlic doesn’t burn.  To do this, place one hand on the breast and with the other slice through the thickest part leaving, making sure the breast is attached on one side.  Put the chicken in the bag and seal.  Squidge the chicken around in the bag and make sure the breasts are covered in the mint and garlic.  Leave in the fridge preferably overnight, or you can make in the morning and leave for the day.

To cook the chicken, heat a pan over a high heat and fry the breasts for about 3 minutes on either side.  Tumble in the lime quarters after you turn the chicken and allow to caramelize.  Serve straight away with a final squeeze of juice from the lime quarters.

Entry filed under: chicken, herbs, lime, main meal, mint, rum.

:: Handy Quick Caesar Dressing! :: Off To Sweden!

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Darius T. Williams  |  July 31, 2008 at 11:47 am

    I’m totally making this…getting the ingredients next time I go to the grocery – which should be next weekend. I ALWAYS have lime on hand, going to pick up mint and the bacardi. I wonder what type of side dish I could make? I’m going to think about that cuz I think a corn on the cob w/lime zest and parm may be good…or maybe a compound butter? Maybe…-DTWhttp://www.everydaycookin.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 2. Donal  |  July 31, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Do! It’s so tasty- if your pickin up mint you should pick up a little plant- I can’t keep up with mine and it just sits in my windowsill! Definitely try another side- let me know what you decide on ! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. Peter M  |  July 31, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Looks like I’m not the only one boozing with chicken! Sounds easy and delish and the grilled limes always impress.

    Reply
  • 4. Donal  |  July 31, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Hey Peter, Your recipe looks really tasty- I love the hasselback style potato’s! I think the next time i cook the limes, I’ll just cut them in half!

    Reply
  • 5. kittie  |  July 31, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    sold!I especially love the fact that most of the prep is done in advance!!Ps great blog, lovely layout πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. Donal  |  July 31, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Hey Kittie!It was the “heaven in my mouth” comment that did it right? πŸ™‚ It’s a great little one to prepare ahead and just forget in the fridge! Love the recipe’s on your blog btw!

    Reply
  • 7. Caviar and Codfish  |  July 31, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Lovely photos and great recipe (though I must get over my own hangover before trying it!)Glad to have found your blog!

    Reply
  • 8. Donal  |  July 31, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Hey there! Just took a peak at your blog- love the herb roast chicken! YUM!

    Reply
  • 9. bakingforthecure  |  July 31, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Looks yummy, sounds like a great idea for a simple dinner πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 10. Esi  |  July 31, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    This looks so good! I love that your recipes are so straightforward with delish results!

    Reply
  • 11. Kevin  |  July 31, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    That chicken looks good and sounds tasty!

    Reply
  • 12. Nina's Kitchen (Nina Timm)  |  August 1, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    This meal will make me forget about a hangover very quickly…yummm!!!!

    Reply
  • 13. Teresa  |  August 3, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Ooohhh! I was looking for some yummy recipes to serve pool-side this week for our “Stay-cation”. This looks perfect! (And I was planning to serve mojito’s today anyway! Woohoo!)

    Reply
  • 14. Anonymous  |  August 3, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Hi! How do you get those nice blackened spots, do you use an iron pan, and at what temprature? Jessica

    Reply
  • 15. banquet manager  |  August 5, 2008 at 2:25 am

    Recipes sound great and the photos are nice too. Nice blog, thanks. Visit mine – < HREF="http://soyouwanttobeabanquetmanager.blogspot.com" REL="nofollow">So You Want To Be a Banquet Manager<>

    Reply
  • 16. Donal  |  August 5, 2008 at 10:05 am

    Baking- Thanks- it’s perfect when you have everything organised ahead of time! πŸ™‚Esi- hehe thanks! Well anything that makes life that bit easier has to be done! Kevin- Thanks! Love the recipe’s on your blog!Nina- haha I hope it works!Teresa- Don’t you just love when it all comes together!:)Jessica- Ideally I would have used a griddle pan on a very high heat- but instead I made do with a normal frying pan. If your worried about the chicken cooking through, start with the heat very high and then reduce slightly. And hopefully you should get nice colour!

    Reply
  • 17. Alisha  |  August 8, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Hi,I’m Alisha from Wowzio, and I’m excited to tell you about our new widget platform that helps bloggers increase readership and create more engaged users. I wanted to reach out to you to ask for your feedback on these widgets (feel free to also install them on your blog, if you feel they are a good fit). You can check out widgets customized for your blog here: < HREF="http://www.wowzio.com/widgets/seewidgets?ids=475&r=c08" REL="nofollow">Wowzio Widgets for your blog<>I’m sorry for leaving this message via a comment, it’s not at all our intent to spam you ( which is why i’m leaving this comment on an older post and you can always remove this comment ). Again, we would love to hear your feedback.Thanks,Alisha Wrightalisha.wright1@gmail.com

    Reply
  • 18. Fat X  |  September 3, 2008 at 5:34 am

    I’m glad I found your blog. I eat a lot of chicken, and it can definitely get boring. This should help. Thanks.

    Reply
  • 19. grill accessories  |  September 9, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Wow that looks great. I find the using a brine is a great way to get juicy flavorful meat.I will have to try.

    Reply
  • 20. ChliiTierChnuebler  |  July 21, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Ok, now, I really have to give cooking a try. Glad I already had dinner, otherwise I would start to cook right now!

    Reply
  • 21. Ann K  |  November 10, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    sounds great will have to try it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Palouse Falls at Sunrise (Palouse, WA)

Dartford Warbler

Herbal face

More Photos

