:: Handy Quick Caesar Dressing!

July 30, 2008 at 11:04 am 11 comments

You know one of those days where everything seems to be a little bit off center?  The days where everything just doesn’t go as planned?  Well yesterday was definitely one of those days, it started off with a phone call from my dear old mammy, claiming she couldn’t find her booking on Ryanair and wanted help to locate it.  Being the ever accommodating son, I spent the next forty minutes, trying every combination of reference number, credit card number, and email to try and retrieve it from the Ryanair website to absolutely no avail.

I eventually gave up after the website told me I had too many unsuccessful login attempts, and gave her a call to inform her of this.  But was she bothered?  No!  And let me tell you why- during the time I was banging my head against the computer screen, she had gone back too her notes and realised that her booking was with, wait for it…. AER LINGUS!!!  You see this is what I have to deal with!  Anyone else out there with parents suffering from technical difficulties?  I’m sure there are!

(Sorry Mammy…)

As I arrived home, I went to get the lift up to the apartment, but the electricity seemed to be on half voltage, so it wasn’t working.  Got up to the apartment, NO WATER AND NO ELECTRICITY!  That was my grand plan for baked Mackerel in tinfoil out the window.  But the panic of the blackout seemed to have gotten to poor little Sofie, who develops a serious problem when she is hungry- she looses the ability to think rationally and until she gets food, goes into severe depression.  So we needed food fast, and despite all my cold food suggestions- we had to eat out!

After a lovely meal at the Orangerie in Malahide (always order the specials), we got home and went to get the lift up, which still wasn’t working.  I had given my security key for the outside doors to our visitor, so I didn’t have one on my bunch, which meant disaster struck one more time, when we realised no one else had their keys with them, which resulted in standing outside until someone came out!

It was definitely one of those days…

That’s my little rant over for now, sorry to put all of that on you!  To make up for it, here is a really handy little dressing to make when you’re short on ingredients and time.



Quick Mayo Caesar Style Dressing

  1. 2 Tbsp of Mayonnaise.
  2. 1 Tsp of English Mustard Powder.
  3. 1 Tsp of Worcester Sauce.
  4. Juice of Half a Lemon.
  5. 1 Clove of Garlic Finely Minced.
  6. A Good Pinch of Sea Salt and Freshly Ground Pepper.

I make all my dressing in jam jars, as they are easy to give a good shake in and will keep in the fridge.  Dollop the Mayo into the jar, followed by the Mustard Powder, Worcester Sauce, Lemon Juice, Garlic, Salt and Pepper.  Put the lid on top, close tightly and shake the bejesus out of it.  Drizzle over some freshly tossed Salad leaves and top with some Freshly Grated Parmesan and some croutons if you have some hanging about.  Dig in!

Entry filed under: dressing, garlic, lemon, mayonaisse, salad, tips, worcester sauce.

:: Avocado Lime and Tobasco Salsa :: MOHITO LIME AND MINT CHICKEN!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eatersregret  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Hah what a disaster, that’s why you always need Dominos on speed dial! I love to arrive home, laden down with shopping, to discover the lift isn’t working and having to plod up 4 flights to my apartment – fun eh?! Love the pictures of Galway, makes me miss Ireland here in smoggy London.

    Reply
  • 2. Donal  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:22 am

    I know! But wait for it the last time we got takeout- the guy refused to come up to the door! Now for me that completely defeats the purpose of gettin take out! Nightmare! heheI can imagine! The longer I live in a built up area, the more I miss the quieter things!

    Reply
  • 3. Schlager Queen  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:24 am

    totally feel your pain! I’m like your girlfriend when hungry I’m unable to function and can slip into grumpy mode easily lol!great pics of the West. Loving the salsa recipe I always find it hard to find different and unusual recipes using avocadoes.

    Reply
  • 4. Donal  |  July 30, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Hey Aidan- It’s an affliction! hehe! Thanks I’m glad you enjoyed them!

    Reply
  • 5. Darius T. Williams  |  July 30, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    The lift up – lol? I love that. We call it an elevator, but I think I’m going to start referring to it as the lift up. It just seems more fun to say lift-up. Anyway, that dressing sounds great. You know, I just really started making my own – so I will need to accumulate more recipes. I’ve mastered the hell outta some red wine and balsamic vinegarette. I’m going to have to give this caesar one a try to see how it’s going to go. You know what else I love – the fact that I can shake the jesus out of the dressing. Two fun phrases – the lift-up and shake the jesus out! I love that!-DTWhttp://www.everydaycookin.blogspot.com

    Reply
  • 6. Donal  |  July 30, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Hahaha I’m glad you got a kick out of it! 🙂That balsamic vinaigrette sounds great!

    Reply
  • 7. [eatingclub] vancouver || js  |  July 30, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    The quick Caesar dressing sounds yummy. I love the story about your mum. Cute!

    Reply
  • 8. Neen  |  July 31, 2008 at 1:19 am

    “poor little Sofie, who develops a serious problem when she is hungry- she looses the ability to think rationally and until she gets food, goes into severe depression”I’m totally JUST LIKE THAT. For real! I hope that the Mackerel didn’t go bad, because the idea of cooking Mackerel in tin foil sounds really decadent…

    Reply
  • 9. Donal  |  July 31, 2008 at 7:22 am

    _ts: Cute?! Nenn: Apparently it’s a common thing! I’ve never come across it before. Hmm I think the Mackerel’s days are numbered as we are going away for the weekend!

    Reply
  • 10. EAT!  |  August 11, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Love this easy recipe. I am not a fan of bottled dressings so this will now be a go-to recipe for me.

    Reply
  • 11. Donal  |  August 14, 2008 at 11:08 am

    Eat- I know me neither- takes minutes to throw your own together without all the crap in commercial ones!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Where the river runs through

Pride Rock...

Watch it!

More Photos

