:: FOOD STYLING 101

July 22, 2008 at 9:41 pm 13 comments

I’m basically just going to throw this out there, just see what sort of interest it gets, but would any of the Irish food bloggers and foodies be interested in attending a Food Styling Demonstration from someone in the industry?

Erica Ryan is a professional food stylist and works with food across all forms of the media.  If you’ve shopped in a supermarket here, you have probably seen her work, as it appears on many of the Irish produced packages!  Apart from working closely with some of the industry’s finest food photographers, bronzing chickens and beefing up beef burgers are just some of the fascinating things she does on a daily basis.

I have spoken to Erica about the amount of Irish food bloggers out there, and the fact that we all take our own pictures and style the food ourselves.  She would love to give an insight into the world of food styling, if not just to reveal some of the special techniques she uses, but to maybe give us food bloggers, a chance to spruce up our own pictures!  Potentially the demonstration would include a talk about food photography, composition, and then a demonstration of some of the interesting methods used.

Although I have no dates set, I would imagine sometime in August would work and it will rely totally on numbers, so if you would be in anyway interested please leave a comment below or email me.  You don’t even have to have a blog, if you have any sort of interest in food, this is really exciting stuff!

Entry filed under: food styling, photography.

:: Easy Salad Preperation :: Asian Chicken Wings

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  July 23, 2008 at 6:58 am

    Maybe you could record it for the international crowd as well?

    Reply
  • 2. JD  |  July 23, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    Good idea Donal, myself (JD) and Margaret of cookzors.com would definitely be interested. Let us know if it’s going ahead.

    Reply
  • 3. The Mood Food Blog  |  July 24, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    Anonymous- Looking more and more like a possibility!JD- I’ll keep you posted- thanks for the interest!

    Reply
  • 4. Mango Power Girl  |  July 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    How about Seattle? There is a huge demand 🙂 I love your site…I’m going to have to visit more often!!

    Reply
  • 5. Donal  |  July 25, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Cool! I’ll bear that in mind when I get the world tour up and running! 😉Thanks I love yours too!

    Reply
  • 6. Kate  |  July 28, 2008 at 9:15 am

    I’d love this, would definitely go – you can count me as a definite yes.

    Reply
  • 7. Caroline@Bibliocook  |  July 28, 2008 at 10:32 am

    I’d be interested as well – with the caveat that I’m based in North Cork so my access to Dublin is limited. Let me know what date you’re planning on doing it and I’ll see if I can make it.

    Reply
  • 8. Nathalie  |  July 28, 2008 at 10:45 am

    I would LOVE to go along to this, stick me name down! Great idea!

    Reply
  • 9. Elana  |  July 28, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Hell yeah. Add me to the list!

    Reply
  • 10. Donal  |  July 28, 2008 at 2:00 pm

    Hey Guys- Great to see some more interest in this- I’ll keep you posted on it!

    Reply
  • 11. Sadhbh  |  July 30, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Donal, I’d defo be intereted, sometimes I find it impossible to make something gorgeous photograph well…

    Reply
  • 12. Donal  |  July 30, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Hey Sadhbh! That’s cool- Ill let you know about dates! Cheers!

    Reply
  • 13. anil  |  September 1, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Am I too late? Id defiantly be interested if it hasn’t happened already

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Where the river runs through

Pride Rock...

Watch it!

More Photos

