:: MR. BENTO HAS ARRIVED!

July 18, 2008 at 10:05 am 8 comments

After months of hoping and wishing, the lunchbox of my dreams has finally arrived!  A big thank you to my lovely Auntie Ann who was visiting Canada recently, and lugged it back to Ireland for me.  Unfortunately none of the stockists in the US, seem to deliver the product internationally, which makes getting your hands on these handy insulated lunch flasks quite an ordeal!

However now that I have it, I am a true convert!  Initially when I opened it, I was a bit concerned about the size, all the containers are a bit on the small side, and I’m a growing boy!  But after using it all last week, it’s actually just the right size.  It’s also very handy to help keep your metabolism working more efficiently throughout the day by eating small meals rather than three large one’s.

The flask can either be hot or cold, and does a fairly good job of keeping things hot just in time for lunch.  Here is just one of the lunches I had last week, Pineapple chunks, Mint and Green Pea Soup, Chicken and Asian Brown Rice, and Wholemeal Pizza bites-  It does slightly take the magic out of fresh food but it’s a whole lot better than buying out.  And if your impressed with all that, head over to Flickr where they have a group specifically devoted to Bento Box lovers around the world, it’s great to see all the different combinations, and has definitely given me a bit of inspiration!

So if your in Canada or America make sure to look out for Zojurushi, Mr. Bento!

*Quick update- My Bento Box was bought @ Sanko, 730, Queen St, West Toronto, ON Web:www.toronto-sanko.com*

Entry filed under: lunch.

:: BAKED DILL AND GARLIC SALMON :: The Good Mood Food Blog: A Book and A Fresh New Look!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Orchid64  |  July 19, 2008 at 12:11 am

    I bought one of these and found you can’t mix and match hot and cold, and, if you don’t put a hot liquid in the soup container, hot food doesn’t stay very hot. Didn’t your soup warm up your pineapple chunks?Anyway, I was keen on one before I started using it. Now, having to fill the soup bowl with hot water and keep cold items like salad outside the container have pretty much soured me on it.

    Reply
  • 2. Nina's Kitchen (Nina Timm)  |  July 19, 2008 at 6:01 am

    This is so unbelievable. I have friends over in Canada and guess what….I’m sending them on a mission to get me one of these…

    Reply
  • 3. The Mood Food Blog  |  July 19, 2008 at 8:53 am

    Hey Orchid- Yeah I know what you mean, i had thought you could have either hot or cold but it’s one or the other. I just stuck the Pineapple chunks in the fridge when I got into work. I have tried it with and without the hot water and it stays fairly warm inside- so don’t give up just yet! 🙂Hey Nina- OH I THINK I HAVE THE SHOP NAME! *runs to kitchen*- Sanko! http://www.toronto-sanko.com! GOOD LUCK! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. eatingoodinthehood@gmail.com  |  July 19, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    I have one of these and I love it! I got mine from amazon here: < HREF="http://www.amazon.com/Zojirushi-Bento-Stainless-Steel-lined-Silver/dp/B000246GSE/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1216476573&sr=8-1" REL="nofollow">Mr. Bento<>I never tried keeping food hot in it because I have a microwave at work so that was never a problem for me. I’m normally just putting cold leftovers in it anyway. Expect lots of comments from your coworkers on it’s space age appearance!

    Reply
  • 5. tara  |  July 23, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    I am in Canada, and have been pondering different lunch options for my husband. Thanks for your comments and tips on Mr. Bento. I was also concerned on the portion sizes for him, so I really appreciate your thoughts!

    Reply
  • 6. The Mood Food Blog  |  July 24, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    No problem! Yeah there is definitely enough- I’m stuffed after lunch!

    Reply
  • 7. _ts of [eatingclub] vancouver  |  July 31, 2008 at 2:54 am

    Oooh, that brings back memories. There were all sorts of “lunch containers” when we were at school growing up. I also miss those stainless steel tiffin containers: we used to have those too!_ts of [eatingclub] vancouver

    Reply
  • 8. Donal  |  July 31, 2008 at 7:19 am

    Hey _ts! We never had cool multi storage lunch boxes- but i was pretty proud of my Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Lunch box!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


