:: NIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD… HERBS

June 5, 2008 at 4:32 pm 7 comments

A few things have been going on in the Irish blogging world since my little blogging break, and even though I might be a bit late on some of the news I thought it was high time I mentioned them here.

The biggest news of course is the release of the Murphy’s Ice Cream book which is a really impressive collection of recipe’s- lots of research, lots of tips and tricks, and some really great pictures! I think the lads really chose the best time to release it too, with Ireland’s attempt at a summer coming thick and fast. If you want to pick up a copy you can do so through their blog IcecreamIreland.

The other food bloggie related news is that, Deb from The Humble Housewife, has moved on up to an even better and bigger blog which is located right here @ Tast.ie.
It’s already full of posts so head over and take a peak!

A few months ago, I posted about my Basil plant which was thriving at the time- since then it has been through a lot- Sofie left all the windows open one very cold day and it looked very worse for wear by the time I came home and saved it! However two months later, and despite a plague of green fly and some sort of growing fungus on the stems- it is still alive and well. Which is a hell of a lot better then the rest of my herbs. The lemon balm, mint, chives and coriander all had to be re potted and moved inside after going slightly black on the edges.

The move seems to have done the trick, with all the plants thriving, except for a few stray little flies which seem to mainly hang around the mint. Anyone have any idea why? Answers on a postcard or in the comments section below. I’ve now planted, bay, lavender and a brand new rosemary plant in the remaining pots, so I’ll just have to wait and see if they survive the balcony.

Is there anyone else out there growing a herb garden this summer? Got any tips or advice?

Entry filed under: book, herbs.

:: STARTING THE SUMMER IN SWEDEN :: SESAME PASTA SALAD

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maz@styletreaty  |  June 5, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Hiya, I grow herbs on my balcony every year. This year I have lemon balm, chives, parsley,rosemary, oregano, thyme and bay. The seem to survive perfectly on the balcony as they never get exposed to extremes. The rain doesn’t even get in under my balcony so the plants get the same amount of water every day. They seem to thrive on the routine.

    Reply
  • 2. Deborah  |  June 5, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Thanks for the mention Donal! ๐Ÿ™‚Basil needs to be inside in a window and kept warm. Unfortunately it, and coriander do not do well outside in our climate. Flat leaf parsley can be iffy too, but mine is surviving so far. I think one of the keys to keeping herbs fresh is to pick leaves, even if you are not going to use them. This encourages nwe growth. Also make sure to pick off flowers immediately to discourage pollination. It will keep the plant around much longer! Although, I love tossing the chive flower in salads or using for garnish. Best of luck and welcome back! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. The Mood Food Blog  |  June 5, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    – Hey Maz! See now your balcony sounds ideal, unfortunately ours is really exposed so the plants seem to constantly have to deal with the wind. But your right the routine seems to be working on the ones inside!– No worries Deb! It looks fab can’t wait to see the whole thing up and running. Since I moved them indoors, the growth has really picked up- I’m now cooking in competition with the herbs!

    Reply
  • 4. lorraine@italianfoodies  |  June 6, 2008 at 9:36 pm

    We’ve just moved into the new house so the garden is a jungle at the mo!! The Italian themed garden is on the cards if the gardener ever turns up and it includes a herb section, I’m sooo excited!! I have no idea how to look after them but will give it a go!! I’ve often kept basil and the best place is def on the windowsill in the kitchen with direct sunlight!!

    Reply
  • 5. Joh  |  June 16, 2008 at 12:15 am

    I’m very excited that for the first time ever, I’ll really be able to grow a window-box of herbs… or even an outdoor pot, as I finally live in a first floor apartment with a small back yard. ๐Ÿ™‚ Gleee!!! I’ll keep you updated on whatever I plant – probably thyme, basil, and parsley because I use those the most. Glad to see you back!

    Reply
  • 6. The Mood Food Blog  |  June 16, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    hey Lorraine!Dying to see pics of the new ktichen! Finding the windowsill is defo best place for basil.Hey Joh!Wow that sounds great- I’m sorely missing a little sheltered bit of a garden! Let me know how you get on!

    Reply
  • 7. conortje  |  June 27, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Whenever I try growing basil it always attracts little flies and I don’t want to spray it with anything if I am going to eat it afterwards. It’s my ongoing dilemma ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


