:: MOOD FOOD YAKI SOBA

April 17, 2008 at 9:25 am 19 comments

One of my most favorite things to do after enjoying a great meal out, is to recreate it from memory! Normally it doesn’t exactly go to plan, but this one really worked out and it’s now a classic here in the mood food kitchen. I have a terrible habit when I eat in a restaurant that when I find my favorite dish, I tend to stick to it and order the dish over and over again! I know variety is the spice of life and all that but when it tastes so good I’d feel like I was missing out if I didn’t order it.

This is an adaptation of a classic dish on the menu at the Wagamama chain of eateries, I think the original recipe includes shrimp, chicken and squid but this is more of a vegetarian version. The eggs added add the end of recipe gives a great texture to the noodles!

Mood Food Yaki Soba

  1. 4oz of Ramen Noodles
  2. 1/2 Cup of Oyster Sauce
  3. 1/3 Cup of Water
  4. 1 Tablespoon of Salt
  5. 1 Tablespoon of Sugar
  6. 1/2 Head of Broccoli Finely chopped
  7. 1 cup of finely chopped Chinese Cabbage
  8. 5 Baby Corn finely sliced
  9. 1 Small Onion sliced into half moons
  10. 5 Spring Onions finely sliced length ways
  11. 2 Cloves of Garlic finely chopped
  12. 1 Red Pepper finely chopped
  13. 2 Eggs lightly beaten

Before you start finely chopping all the veg, boil the noodles according to the instructions on the packet. Strain and set aside.
In a small sauce pan bring to the boil, Oyster sauce, Water, Salt and Sugar. Leave on a low heat and cook for 10 mins.
While the sauce is cooking, prep the Broccoli, Chinese Cabbage, Baby Corn, Spring Onions, and Onion and set aside in a large bowl. Chop the pepper and garlic and set aside.
Take the sauce pan off the heat and combine it with the veg in the bowl and toss. Add the noodles and toss again.
In a large very hot frying pan or wok, add about two tablespoons of vegetable oil and stirfry the pepper and garlic for about 1 minute.
Add the noodles and veg mix and cook for another 2 minutes until cooked through, then add the eggs and cook for a further minute.

Serve in a big bowl and enjoy! You can garnish the dish with thinly sliced pickled ginger but that’s optional.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

:: FRIED MUSHROOM AND GARLIC ON TOASTED FOCACCIA :: STARTING THE SUMMER IN SWEDEN

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maz@styletreaty  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:21 am

    That looks delicious, I can’t wait to try it out. The mushrooms below look great as well. I’m very impressed with you recipes Donal, they’re my kind of food.

    Reply
  • 2. Deborah  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Donal I think we must have the same palate! πŸ™‚ Looks fab and one of my favourite Wagamama entrees that and the Teriyaki Steak Soba! πŸ™‚ Have you tried Yaki Soba at Yamamori? Really good there too!

    Reply
  • 3. lorraine@italianfoodies  |  April 17, 2008 at 11:39 am

    I’ve only been once to the one in Cork and loved it!! Wish they opened in Limerick or else I’ll just have to come to yours:)

    Reply
  • 4. jen  |  April 17, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Love Wagamama’s – so many fantastic flavours, so much to try out… I’m a little bit addicted to the gyoza. This looks brilliant – will have to give it a whirl very soon πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. MARICHELLE  |  April 17, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    I’m the same exact way when it comes to ordering my faves. The possibility of coming out of there usatisfied scares me… oh no, that’s a bit off-character – I think you’ve just made me realize that I need to change that. Or at least start ordering two dishes at once πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. Rachel@fairycakeheaven  |  April 17, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    This looks gorgeous and I think I have everything needed for it!! A lovely Saturday evening dinner methinks!

    Reply
  • 7. The Mood Food Blog  |  April 17, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Maz- Hey thanks! Hope to keep you interested πŸ™‚Deb- You it must be! Have to try it yamamori style- have you been to mao’s? It’s probably my fav asian restaurant in Dublin!Lorraine- haha we’ll set a place at the table! πŸ™‚Jen- It’s fab but I have to branch out and try something new next time! I was really happy with this one so hope it works out for you.Marichelle- I think 2 dishes sounds a lot more fun!!! πŸ™‚Rachel- And if you don’t just adapt it! Once you have the sauce egg and noodles it doesn’t make a huge difference what veg you use! Enjoy!

    Reply
  • 8. diva  |  April 17, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    love wagamama, love soba. and the thing is once you get the hang of making it, you can vary it with loads of ingredients. perfect!

    Reply
  • 9. MP3 e MP4  |  April 18, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Hello. This post is likeable, and your blog is very interesting, congratulations :-). I will add in my blogroll =). If possible gives a last there on my blog, it is about the < HREF="http://mp3-mp4-brasil.blogspot.com" REL="nofollow">MP3 e MP4<>, I hope you enjoy. The address is http://mp3-mp4-brasil.blogspot.com. A hug.< HREF="0050054210" REL="nofollow"><>

    Reply
  • 10. Joh  |  April 20, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Yup, I’m definitely going to be testing this one out. Someday soon. The roommate and boyfriend will just have to deal with it!!! πŸ™‚ Happy Cooking!

    Reply
  • 11. tigerfish  |  April 22, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I absolutely love noodles! And this is the type I would enjoy too – with all the flavor veg and egg. Yummy!

    Reply
  • 12. Joh  |  April 25, 2008 at 1:38 am

    Ok, I just read that someone up there mentioned Wagamama and my soul cried out. I’ve not been there since I left the UK, but the one in Glasgow and I shared some pretty important memories, and some freaking delicious food. Sigh. Wagamama….

    Reply
  • 13. jj  |  May 4, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    I sure admire your ability to recreate a restaurant dish; never could get my attempts to work out! lol…you did a great job on this and the pictures make it looks so scrumptious!

    Reply
  • 14. dazzie  |  June 13, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Thanks for the recipe, YYYYYUUUUMM!!! I wanted to share this, why don’t you try it with this drink called purple, I tried it and yummm!. You must have heard about it since it’s doing a lot of rounds in the celebrity circuit and is all over the news. Its tastes amazing with everything, try it and let me know if you liked it or not. It is a health drink which is made up of 7 fruits juice and is high on antioxidants and you know about antioxidants right? it prevents premature ageing, what else do growing women want huh, LOL!! If you want more information to check whether what I am saying is right you can get it at http://www.drinkpurple.com . You can get it at GNC and drug stores. Could not help sharing it!

    Reply
  • 15. Fred  |  June 20, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    I have tried this drink and I saw someone drinking it on a celebrity blog. This stuff is great…I love the taste. Most stuff that is good for you taste awful.Here is a tip…If you go to their website at http://www.drinkpurple.com they have a page that tells you what stores are carrying purple. I say this because all the GNC stores that I have been to are sold out. This stuff is hot. I gave up looking and just ordered three cases of Purple from the company.

    Reply
  • 16. nettles73  |  August 3, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Looks delish!Have you ever tried it with buckwheat soba noodles??

    Reply
  • 17. Donal  |  August 5, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Thanks! And No but i have to try! Sounds great!

    Reply
  • 18. Lena  |  August 14, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    YUM! Yakisoba is my fave. Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  • 19. Donal  |  August 15, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Mine too! Hope you enjoy it! x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Palouse Falls at Sunrise (Palouse, WA)

Dartford Warbler

Herbal face

More Photos

