:: CHEAP AND CHEERFUL FISHCAKES

April 14, 2008 at 6:05 am 8 comments

This, I’ll be honest with you, is a bit of an experimental recipe! I like fishcakes but it just feels a bit wasteful, to spend money on a nice bit fish, and mash it up, with potatoes. I know that it’s a bit weird, but it got me thinking that even though its not exactly the height of culinary excellence, I could substitute the fresh fish with some cheap and cheerful canned fish like tuna.
As a recipe this works fine, the cakes form well and cook evenly, the only thing is that if you use canned tuna like I did, you have the flavor of canned tuna, which can be a bit over powering in something like this. When I make it again, I’m going to use tuna packaged with oil in a jar which might be a little less in your face. But really the recipe works with any fish, so just substitute that part.


Cheap and Cheerful Fishcakes

  1. 300g of baby potatoes
  2. 2 cans of tuna
  3. 1 egg lightly beaten
  4. Bunch of spring onions chopped
  5. Handful of Parsley roughly chopped
  6. A good pinch of salt and pepper

Bring the potatoes to a boil in some water and cook for about 10 mins, or stick a fork in the them to see if there soft and tender. Drain the water and mash the potatoes.

Drain the tuna or fish of choice and add to the the pot of potatoes along with the egg, spring onions, salt, pepper and parsley. Mix together and form into palm sized cakes and set aside.

Heat a large frying pan, add a little bit of vegetable oil, and fry the cakes on both sides for about 5 minutes or until golden brown. Serve with a side salad and some sweet chili dipping sauce.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

:: SIMPLE BASIC CHICKEN STOCK RECIPE :: PICS FROM OUR SUNDAY FAMILY DINNER

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MARICHELLE  |  April 14, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    I used to be friends with this girl back in high school and her mother (originally from Sri Lanka) taught a bunch of us how to make fish balls. I can’t remember the exact recipe but she definitely used canned tuna and they were REALLY REALLY good. She added a ton of coarsely cracked black peppercorns for some kick and of course potatoes. To finish them off, we dipped them in an egg mixture, covered them in bread crumbs and semi-deep fried them.I suppose you really can’t go wrong when potatoes and deep-frying are involved 😉

    Reply
  • 2. The Mood Food Blog  |  April 14, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Yeah I think that sounds really nice! Like these were nice but extra nice with the sweet chili dipping sauce. SO they do need a little extra something! But I’ll try them again and let you know how I get on! 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. candyce  |  April 14, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    Yum! Fishcakes may be the easiest, most delicious snack! Well… it’s a snack for me. 😉 I’d love one of these right now.. with mayo, on a slice of fresh white bread.

    Reply
  • 4. The Mood Food Blog  |  April 14, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Hey Candyce!You have me sold! Thats sounds great! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. michelle @ TNS  |  April 15, 2008 at 12:52 am

    fishcakes rule in sandwich form!i dig them with salmon, or with the kind of tuna that comes in a pouch.

    Reply
  • 6. RecipeGirl  |  April 15, 2008 at 5:32 am

    I don’t know if I’ve ever heard of fish cakes… crab cakes, salmon cakes, shrimp cakes.. but not fish cakes!I’ve just come across your blog- love your photos!

    Reply
  • 7. tigerfish  |  April 15, 2008 at 9:21 am

    I think it is perfect use of canned tuna. I’ve made these bfore. Can eat many of them….oops, I can’t stop.

    Reply
  • 8. LyB  |  April 16, 2008 at 12:32 am

    I’ve made something like this before but with canned salmon which is quite good. Tuna sounds like a great variation, they look delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Where the river runs through

Pride Rock...

Watch it!

More Photos

