:: CRISPY SWEET POTATO WEDGES

April 3, 2008 at 11:58 am 11 comments

Well I just finished putting together the rest of the stuff we got for the apartment from IKEA and I am very impressed with myself- not really being the handyman type- even Sofie was impressed! I’m going to post a few pics of the things we got as I’m pretty proud of them- it’s really amazing how just a few new things can make your house feel so much more homely!

This is a nice little recipe that can be served as a side dish or a nice TV dinner style
Crispy Sweet Potato Wedges (Serves 4)

  1. 5 Large Sweet Potatoes
  2. 3 Tablespoons of vegetable oil
  3. 2 Gloves of finely chopped Garlic
  4. 1 teaspoon of Maldon Sea Salt
  5. 1 teaspoon of Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  6. 1 teaspoon of dried Oregano
  7. 1/2 teaspoon of dried Red Chilli Flakes

Preheat the oven to 220 oC/ 425 oF/ Gas Mark 7

Peel the Sweet Potatoes and slice length ways into 8 pieces.

Place in a large roasting tin and toss the wedges with oil and the remaining ingredient’s until all the wedges are well coated.

Roast in the oven for about 20-25 mins, or until crispy. Make sure to toss them halfway through.

Serve as a nice side dish or a quick and tasty snack! YUM!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

:: CAJUN SALMON WITH ASIAN GREENS :: APARTMENT

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hillary  |  April 4, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Oooh nicely done! I like that you copied the potato wedges instead of the fries. Creative.

    Reply
  • 2. The Mood Food Blog  |  April 4, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Thanks! Though I don’t get what you mean about copying?

    Reply
  • 3. Chuck  |  April 5, 2008 at 6:35 am

    What a great shot!! They look very tasty!

    Reply
  • 4. diva  |  April 5, 2008 at 9:41 am

    that looks awesome! my mum used to make these on lazy days..i really like your blog…hope to see more! x

    Reply
  • 5. chriesi  |  April 5, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Mmm these are great!

    Reply
  • 6. MARICHELLE  |  April 7, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    Those look lovely! And congratulations on putting together the IKEA stuff – I know how much of a pain in the butt that could be! Oh by the way, about the layout of my blog – I’m glad you like it! I did design it myself with the help of this site: http://tips-for-new-bloggers.blogspot.com/2007/02/three-columns-blogger-template.htmlIt has lots of great blogger “hacking” tips.

    Reply
  • 7. AnticiPlate  |  April 14, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Wow! Those look very tasty! I love how big they are cut. I love that you added red pepper flakes. Sweet and Spicy is one of my favorite combinations.

    Reply
  • 8. jessy  |  August 11, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Gorgeous!This is how you do sweet potato fries! I hate when people add sugar and cinnamon and such. They taste much better with a bit of spice!

    Reply
  • 9. Donal  |  August 14, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Anticiplate- Mine too! It especially works here with crunch factor!Jessy- Definitely agree- why sweeten something that is naturally sweet! Like myself! 😉

    Reply
  • 10. Sharon  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Donal…made these fries last week and they didnt come out v good,,,,thy were a speckled with black spots and wondered what did I do wrong, I think they were too thin as well…???
    Love your receipes & photography is great…
    Good luck with your new book..
    Sharon

    Reply
  • 11. Krista  |  October 28, 2009 at 2:59 am

    Yummy! I have made these before but never let them crisp up so much – I used parchment paper underneath and I think this helped.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


