:: Kanel Bulle- Swedish Cinnamon Buns

October 3, 2007 at 10:41 am 27 comments

These are possibly the most tasty little buns I’ve ever had! I first sampled them homemade at a Swedish friend’s house, and was intrigued by the very foreign shape, yet familiar Christmas flavors. When I moved to Sweden last year, I quickly found out they were standard fair for everyday life and were similar to what the croissant does for the french and what the scone does for the English. All in all they were pretty bog standard! However, I was given a Swedish cookbook recently which had the recipe so I had to try recreating them, it’s not really your standard fairy cake mixture, but the effort was worth it, even if just to put a smile on my homesick girlfriend!

Generally if you stick to the recipe you can’t really go wrong, the only variation I made to the recipe was rolling the dough a bit more thinly to get more rolls, but that is entirely up to yourself!

If you don’t have pearl sugar, which I didn’t the first time I made them, you can substitute it with a sprinkling out dark brown sugar.

Swedish Cinnamon Buns
Makes about 40 Buns

  1. 2 Cups of whole milk
  2. 4oz butter
  3. 2 packs of dried yeast
  4. 1/2 tsp salt
  5. 2/3 cup sugar
  6. 5-6 cups of flour

For the filling:

  1. 4oz butter
  2. 1/2 cup of sugar
  3. 2 tbsp of cinnamon
  4. 1 egg beaten

Melt the butter in a large bowl gently on a low heat and then add the milk .

When the mixture is lukewarm add the two sachets of active dry yeast, making sure it is really mixed through.

Stir in the sugar and the salt.

Slowly incorporate the flour in one cup at a time, try not to loose it, as the mixture will eventually come together, and you won’t be left with a sticky mess forever!

When the dough has taken shape and is no longer sticky, turn out onto a floured surface and need for about 3 minutes.

Leave the dough to rise in the bowl covered with a damp cloth for 45 mins. Try and find somewhere warm as the yeast will do it’s job a lot quicker.

While the dough is rising , prepare the filling. Gently melt the butter and add the cinnamon and sugar, making a thick spreadable mixture.

When the dough has risen, cut it in half and roll it into a rectangle about 5mm thick, and then spread the filling all over.

Then roll the dough so you get a snail effect, and slice into approx 15-20 pieces. Place the slices in those cute little paper wrappers face up and coat with the beaten egg.

Then sprinkle your little babies with some pearl sugar, or brown sugar if you can’t get some.

Bake the rolls in the oven at 250 degrees Celsius for about 5 mins or until the turn golden brown!

Enjoy! Perfect with some afternoon tea, a wild night in with the lads, or even a sneaky one to yourself! The choice is yours!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

:: QUICK KITCHEN TIP! :: RESTORATIVE CHICKEN SOUP! (Not just for the soul!)

27 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  October 4, 2007 at 1:38 am

    these look great! are they similar to cinnamon buns?jesshttp://myspace.com/bisou_me

    Reply
  • 2. The Mood Food Blog  |  October 4, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    yeah pretty much!

    Reply
  • 3. Michael  |  October 4, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Hi!I lived in sweden for a year, and I miss my Kanel Bulle so much! I will try your recepy tomorrow! Thank you so much!

    Reply
  • 4. Deborah  |  October 8, 2007 at 10:58 am

    Good God Donal are you trying to kill me? These look phenomenal. Do you deliver to offaly? πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 5. Mansi Desai  |  October 15, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    If they look this good, I wonder how fantastic they’d taste!! nice blog, first time here and glad I found it!

    Reply
  • 6. Patricia Scarpin  |  October 17, 2007 at 11:57 am

    I’m gonna tag this recipe – they look so delicious!

    Reply
  • 7. Jeena  |  October 28, 2007 at 12:35 am

    Those cinnamon rolls look absoloutly delicious, great recipe yummy!

    Reply
  • 8. adam  |  November 2, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    Hello I just entered before I have to leave to the airport, it’s been very nice to meet you, if you want here is the site I told you about where I type some stuff and make good money (I work from home): < HREF="http://www.yourtypingbiz.info/billion-dollar-market.php" REL="nofollow">here it is<>

    Reply
  • 9. Sarah Bell  |  January 29, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    God these look good, and I love cinnamon!! Are you single πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 10. Anonymous  |  May 14, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    I’m Swedish so I have those once a month atleast!My mom makes the best. The trick is to add more of the “filling”, more juicy and soft.

    Reply
  • 11. emily  |  September 5, 2008 at 2:57 am

    I literally just pulled a batch of these out of the oven, and they are the most incredible thing I've ever eaten. They were hard for me to make, being the first time I worked with yeast and bread dough and all that, but it was worth it. Mine aren't as pretty as yours, though, as I found out too late that I lost my rolling pin in my most recent move. So I had to flatten it by hand. :]Yum yum yum, make these, they're amazing ❀ Thanks for the recipe, you rock!

    Reply
  • 12. Asu's Kitchen  |  October 13, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Your site is amazing!!! I tried making these, i don’t know where i went wrong, but some how i did. It just never came together for me, just stayed sticky. I did eventually give up. But i’m determined to get it right, so i’ll try again next week πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 13. Anonymous  |  February 16, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    No, they are Finnish buns… delishious though.

    Reply
  • 14. Anonymous  |  February 16, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    I’m swedish and I’m pretty sure they’re swedish. But maybe you have them in finland too?

    Reply
  • 15. dick  |  March 30, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Just got a Bosch Kitchen Machine (mixer specializing in bread but good for all kinds of things) and was wondering if this is something that might work in that. It kneads the bread as it mixes it so I would assume it would do the same with this as well.Love your recipes. Quick question on your Panto gig. Did you ever master the flying bit? Your first attempt was not too good (LOL) – not that mine would be either).

    Reply
  • 16. Anonymous  |  April 14, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    Dick>> You can easily use your bosch-machine to make this kind of dough.

    About wether or not these buns are in fact Swedish – well, i'm from Denmark and these buns (or cinnamon snails as we call them in Denmark πŸ˜‰ ) are definately known to be a swedish thing πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 17. Anonymous  |  May 4, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    The other recipes for these buns I have found have included ground cardamum seeds in the dough. I make them to almost this exact recipe (plus cardamum, and instead of pearl sugar I use crushed sugar cubes) and they are indeed delicious!

    -Hannah

    Reply
  • 18. Anonymous  |  May 6, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    These are definitely SWEDISH buns. “The cinnamon roll is thought to have been invented in Sweden where it takes the name kanelbulle (literally: “cinnamon bun”).” Don’t try to steal our Swedish fire! πŸ™‚

    Anyway, my mom was from Sweden and I grew up eating these all the time. They are amazing. I definitely suggest trying this recipe. I am going to give it a shot myself, soon.

    – Jeff

    Reply
  • 19. Paul  |  May 24, 2009 at 9:00 am

    i made your spinach and pasta and ricotta bake which i got totally wrong (not your fault) but was ultimately delish – all for houseguests this weekend. But these?! Were amazing, came out absolutely perfect – a recipe an idiot like me can follow. Everyone’s raving about them πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 20. Georgina  |  June 18, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Hi, how much sugar is 2/3 of a cup and like wise 5 -6 cups of flour, cannot find a definitive guide for cup measurements anywhere. Thanks

    Reply
  • 21. Cherokee  |  August 27, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    After high school I moved to Stockholm 2 years ago with my Swedish bf and lived with his family..we made these all the time. I then returned to the states and went to The Culinary Institute of America in Napa Valley and made these for my classmates and chefs.. a winner for sure. =) keep up the fantastic work.. Food is life.

    -Cherokee

    Reply
  • 22. Rayzer  |  September 20, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Made these recently – absolutely lovely and also got the thumbs up from my swedish girlfriend.

    Reply
  • 23. Hungry Jenny  |  October 13, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    I had a cinnamon swirl thing from Tescos recently and as I was eating it, I thought, hm, I wonder how you make these? Haha

    These Swedish ones look gorgeous and I have bookmarked it to try it out soon one day!

    Cheers

    Hungry Jenny x

    Reply
  • 24. karllambert  |  October 15, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Tjena Donal,
    Been in Sweden for a little over 3 years now and kanelbullar are probably the reason why I've stayed =)

    Have only recently been thinking about attempting to make them at home. Was listening to you online on Newstalk this afternoon, found your website and low and behold… a recipe =)

    Looks like I've got something to try this weekend.

    So ye lived in Sweden?

    Tack och ha det sΓ₯ bra!

    /K

    Reply
  • 25. orla  |  October 22, 2009 at 10:13 am

    hy donal….these buns are fantastic!!…i saw people selling cinnamon buns at the dunlaoire festival of world cultures and the ifsc market in dublin…they are fresh made and warm…yum yum

    Reply
  • 26. Deirdre  |  October 30, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    Hi Donal,
    I finally got around to making these today – rainy weather is great for baking. They're gorgeous – will drop a few around to my Swedish neighbour later for her opinion.
    Don't forget to put up the interview with The Tubridy Show too!

    Reply
  • 27. Emma  |  November 10, 2009 at 12:23 am

    I just stumbled on your blog after googling "good food"… Looks like I found good food alright!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos


