::Breakfast Smoothie and Porridge with Honey, Goats Milk, and Blueberries!

August 13, 2007 at 11:47 am 9 comments


This is what we woke up to this morning. Now if that doesn’t get you going on a Monday morning I don’t know what will! After a pretty unsettled couple of weeks were back on track with a healthy lifestyle starting with a nice healthy jog last night, unfortunately I know it’s going to be broken up yet again when we hit Sweden on Friday!

This is a great breakfast to start the week. So many people forget about breakfast, but when your mother told you to eat it, she was right! When you think about it logically, your body hasn’t received any nutrients since the night before and is therefore running practically on empty! When you wait till twelve to nourish your body you have wasted a whole morning, when you could have had your body full of nutrients releasing energy.

As a general rule it is always better to eat something for breakfast rather than nothing. People who are making the time excuse generally aren’t being realistic, I made this breakfast and ate it in 20 mins and it was a fairly big one, every person can make the time in the morning, by setting the alarm that little bit earlier.

Getting out of bed is a mental thing, when the alarm goes off I get straight out of bed and don’t leave myself time to consider those extra few minutes I could waste by staying there. Try it tomorrow, just get straight up when the alarm rings, it’s not that hard and you feel great about yourself too! Well that’s what I told the girlfriend when I dragged her out of bed this morning! ๐Ÿ™‚

Mixed Fruit Smoothie

  1. 1/2 cup of Mixed Frozen Berries
  2. 1 Banana
  3. Orange or Apple Juice (not from concentrate)

I always keep some frozen mixed berries (Boylan’s) which you can get in most supermarkets these days, as there perfect for smoothies because they last for a long time in the freezer. Throw the Berries in a container with the banana and fill the container up as far as the berries with Orange or Apple juice.

Then blend and serve, it’s really quick and really easy.

Entry filed under: breakfast, fruit, porridge, recipe, smoothie.

:: NUT FREE PESTO ::Stir Fry Lunch

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hillary  |  August 13, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    Smoothies look great! I absolutely love all smoothies – so refreshing and delicious! Are those star ice cubes? How cute.

    Reply
  • 2. The Mood Food Blog  |  August 13, 2007 at 4:08 pm

    Yes i got them in my local *cough* lidl! I got penguins too! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. robinb  |  August 13, 2007 at 8:04 pm

    Hey Donal! Didn’t realise you had this blog! I’m impressed.-Robin (ex-SPS)

    Reply
  • 4. Patricia Scarpin  |  August 13, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    It sounds delicious and I love how beautifully presented it is!

    Reply
  • 5. Manuel  |  August 14, 2007 at 1:13 am

    “Try it tomorrow, just get straight up when the alarm rings”No, no I wont be doing that. I have 35 French pensioners for lunch and that is something I wont be rushing towards with open arms‘…and you feel great about yourself too!’No i wont and I’ll hate you for the rest of the day…Thanks though for trying…

    Reply
  • 6. ManicMammy  |  August 14, 2007 at 8:02 am

    Hey Donal.Must start doing smoothies at breakfast time. The older kids have gotten brutal at eating fruit whole so I’ve taken to doing smoothies in the evening when I think of it. Hate cleaning the liquidiser tho’. Agree with ya that the frozen Boylans berries are fab when added. Make the whole smoothie cold without being watery. The 3 year old also loves porridge. Doesn’t take too long done in the microwave and she’s happy. For some reason it gives me heartburn?Love the blog.

    Reply
  • 7. The Mood Food Blog  |  August 14, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    robinb- Hey! It’s still only a few weeks old! I waved at you from the car over the weekend up near the big blue don’t think you had a clue who it was though! Hope your keepin well!Patricia- Thanks a mill!Manuel- look at least you can’t say I didn’t try! ๐Ÿ™‚Manic Mammie- It’s such a great blast of fruit and tasty too! Yeah the boylans fruit is great! Weird I’ll ask someone about the porridge heartburn!

    Reply
  • 8. Manuel  |  August 15, 2007 at 12:25 am

    You make it, I’ll serve it (to myself)

    Reply
  • 9. Steph  |  September 14, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    At Target you can get enormmous bags of different mixes of frozen fruit, perfect for smoothies. Dump it in the blender with some orange juice or water, and you're set. I also like to put in flax seed for the added fiber, no matter how much I put in it's never hurt the taste. Thanks to Target for making it possible and to Donal for all the great recipies!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Where the river runs through

Pride Rock...

Watch it!

More Photos

