:: ABOUT

July 6, 2007 at 4:40 pm 14 comments

About the Blog
The Good Mood Food Blog started in 2007 after I moved in to my first apartment.  I’ve always had an interest in photography so when I bought my lovely camera, I thought it was finally time to start documenting some dishes I was cooking and with that the blog was born!  Most of the recipes on the blog try to include as many healthy ingredients as possible.  I’m a big believer in the power of food and it’s affects on our lives.  I hope you enjoy the recipes and the bit of banter that goes with them.

About Me
Hey I’m Donal I come from Dublin. I grew up in family obsessed with food and drink which made it pretty hard not to have an interest.  I love trying out new recipe’s, adapting old ones, and tasting new things.  I also have a serious addiction to cookbooks!  But there’s nothing wrong with that, right? 


About the Book

I have recently finished writing my first cook book which is due for release Oct 09′ with Mercier Press.  The book is called “Good Mood Food” and is full of healthy home cooking.

Good Mood Food is a cookbook that aims to change your attitude to food, offering a delicious range of simple, healthy home-cooked recipes. Good Mood Food features mouth-watering recipes like Broad Bean, Pancetta and Pea Shoot Salad, Cookies and Cream Chocolate Chip Oreo Cupcakes, Blueberry and Banana Muffins, and a tasty Aromatic Duck Salad.

“Good Mood Food is a new breed of cookbook that springs from the talent of a passionate home cook. A truly scrumptious read.”
Ross Golden-Bannon
The Sunday Business Post and Food & Wine Magazine.

β€œAt last… Simple, easy recipes that are healthy and interesting. Donal Skehan’s book reclaims good food from the convenience of supermarket shelves and puts it back where it belongs – in the domestic kitchen.”
Paolo Tullio
The Resturant

Buy Book via Mercier Press
Buy Book via Easons
Buy Book via Amazon
Buy Book via Play.com

About the Photos
All the photo’s featured on the blog are taken with my handy dandy Canon 400D camera which has seen me through the last few years.  The food is all home cooked and barely tweaked before being shot.

Press for the blog and book
Irish Independent Weekend Magazine “My First”- Richie Taylor
Irish Independent “The Guilty Gourmets”- Declan Cashin
Irish Tatler “Food For Thought”- Ciara McDonnell

Sunday Independent “Why You Should Know About Donal Skehan”- Julia Molony

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

:: Irish Food and Drink Blogs

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lalaine  |  July 20, 2008 at 9:28 am

    Can’t think of a faster way to a woman’s heart than wearing a kitchen apron.

    Reply
  • 2. The Mood Food Blog  |  July 21, 2008 at 9:27 am

    haha- well that and not having to cook dinner! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  • 3. nettles73  |  August 3, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Wow! You two are supercute and your recipes look fabulous!Cheers!

    Reply
  • 4. Donal  |  August 5, 2008 at 10:11 am

    πŸ™‚ Thanks so much! Hope to see you on here some more!

    Reply
  • 5. Gay  |  August 15, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Love you recipes. And great pictures!

    Reply
  • 6. Donal  |  August 15, 2008 at 11:32 am

    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 7. brent  |  August 18, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Your blog inspires me to cook! Do you have any preferences on kitchen knives? I have a blog on < HREF="http://www.cutcoknives.net/" REL="nofollow">kitchen knives<> and would love your opinion.

    Reply
  • 8. Sithean  |  October 12, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    You and your lady look adorable. =) These recipes sound delicious, and your photos are wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Reply
  • 9. Jennifer  |  February 19, 2009 at 1:56 am

    I just came across your blog and ADORE it!!! Beautiful pictures and such a unique collection of recipes πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 10. Anonymous  |  April 2, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Fantastic blog; love the photos and the food! Well done and look forward to seeing your book later this year!

    Reply
  • 11. Kate  |  August 1, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    you may just be too cute for words πŸ™‚ i just love you're blog

    Reply
  • 12. Diane  |  September 12, 2009 at 12:36 am

    Huge congratulations again! I'm really looking forward to getting my hands on the book – internet is one thing, but you can't beat the joy of holding the printed word and leafing through recipes and photos, exclaiming 'ooh I'd like to make that! And that! Oh, and that too!'

    Really fantastic stuff, and I sincerely hope it does brilliantly, because I'm not sure I 'know' (well, as well as you can via blogs!) anyone who works so hard and so focused. Grand job!

    Reply
  • 13. Divina Pe  |  October 4, 2009 at 8:21 am

    Congratulations on your cookbook. Your blog is awesome. Looking forward to it.

    Reply
  • 14. CaptnRachel aka Tha Pizza Cutta  |  November 13, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    putting your book on my christmas wish list. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos

Palouse Falls at Sunrise (Palouse, WA)

Dartford Warbler

Herbal face

More Photos

